Walt Disney World Marathon 2013 Recap

24 Jan

The night before the marathon, I could not sleep. I was excited, nervous, and scared. I was scared to repeat my prior performance in the 2011 WDW Marathon where I had stopped running altogether at Mile 15 because of blisters on my feet, and I walked the rest of the way. I had such a bad attitude about that race and felt so disappointed in myself despite accomplishing something so great.

I hadn’t trained hard enough for this marathon. I had gotten up to 17 miles in mid-November, and even then, I had to take lots of breaks. But the morning of the marathon, I decided I was going to toe the start line with a positive attitude and just have fun. I arranged all of my marathon necessities and climbed into my bunk bed (we were staying in one of the cabins at Fort Wildnerness).

cabin

Two o’clock couldn’t come fast enough. I tossed and turned all night. Luckily, I had some friends who indulged me in a few games of Words with Friends. Everyone got up at 2 and changed into our gear. Anne Marie was nice enough to braid my hair!

braids

before the race

We were out the door around 3:15am and caught the bus to Epcot.

bus

 

As soon as we arrived at Epcot, we immediately made our way to the corrals and waited there patiently until it was our turn to move up to the starting line.

Anne Marie and I made a promise to stick together for the race, and so we did. We agreed on 2/1 run/walk intervals (run for 2 minutes, walk for 1). The first few miles went by very quickly and before we knew it, we were at the Magic Kingdom toll plaza.

We held a steady, slow pace of approximately 13:10/mile for the first 5 miles. By that time, we were entering Magic Kingdom and getting ready to run through Cinderella Castle!

main street

castle

My pace dropped to close to 14-15 minutes for Miles 6-9 as we headed out of Magic Kingdom, dealt with a single-lane road by the Grand Floridian and ran our way around the Richard Petty Raceway (a new addition to this year’s course). I wasn’t a fan of the race track because it was long, boring, and I’m just not a fan of Nascar/races/anything related to racing cars. When we were running around the track, my legs were aching and dying for some Bio Freeze. I had never used Bio Freeze until this race, but I had heard enough amazing things about it. I believe “circus in your pants” was the quote which inspired me to stick my hands full of Bio Freeze right down my pants at the med tent around the 10th mile marker. Within seconds, I could feel the tingly, iceberg sensation and was good for a few more miles.

Miles 10, 11, and 12 are pretty boring as they are spent on a back road to Animal Kingdom, and my pace had slowed to around 16 minute miles because I had scaled back to 1/1 intervals. The heat was getting to me, and my shoulders were aching. I was feeling pretty fatigued altogether. But it was nice to get a little pick-me-up by running around Animal Kingdom, despite the narrow and winding walkways.

everest

I believe the half-marathon mark was somewhere just outside of Animal Kingdom, and it was around this time that I could no longer consistently keep up with Anne Marie and our intervals, so she went ahead and ran her own race. To be honest, I needed to do the rest of the marathon on my own and my own pace without any pressure. It was such a relief to have her by my side for the first 13-14 miles because the time went by so fast, but it was time for me to finish this on my own. And by that time, I had less than a half marathon to go, and I was feeling pretty good despite everything.

Miles 15-17 were at about a 16 minute/mile pace, and it was all on Osceola Parkway going from Animal Kingdom to the Wide World of Sports.

mile 16

I spent a little too much time at a medical tent along the way because they were running out of Bio Freeze, and it took all of us some time to squeeze as much out of the bottle as we could. Miles 18 and 19 were spent in the Wide World of Sports complex, and we got to “run the bases” on the baseball field where the Atlanta Braves hold their spring training.

baseball field

Once we were out of Wide World of Sports, it was time for the Mile 20 Spectacular, a surprise Run Disney had been promoting for months. It was a display of large, moving puppets, an archway displaying all 20 of the WDW Marathon medals, and Mickey, Goofy, and Donald were up on a podium.

After this, I knew I only had about 6.5 miles left, which was completely do-able. It was going to be a short-ish run to and around the Hollywood Studios, a run to the Yacht and Beach Club, and a run around the countries. I was trying to calculate my pace to see if I could PR, but unfortunately, my brain was in “marathon mode”, and I was completely incapable of doing math. But what I could figure was that I could come pretty close to breaking my past marathon time. I was walking some, but I ran when I could and even when I thought I couldn’t.

2

My pace ranged from 16-18 minute miles for the last 6.5 miles. I was honestly giving everything I could and still having fun. Jackie (MomJovi) snagged this picture of me and Mr. Incredible as I was running past France.

181a41485db211e2a5d622000a1e94d6_7

I was surprisingly all smiles and absolutely drenched in sweat.

Before I knew it, I was rounding Mexico and heading towards Spaceship Earth and eventually towards the finish line!

1

finish line

finish 2

I finished in 6:54:57. Just 94 seconds slower than my 2011 time.

finish time

splits

(I forgot to stop my Garmin at the finish line and didn’t realize it for a few minutes)

My medal was hung around my neck as I held back a variety of emotions. My first thought was “this wasn’t a fluke! I’ve done TWO now!” Then the tears came. I was so dang proud of myself, and I had FUN!

finisher

medal 2

I gathered up 2 bananas, the silly lunchbox they keep insisting on giving us, and my favorite post-race treat, a real Coke.

coke

lunchbox

lunchbox 2

I grabbed a seat near the big TV screen so I could watch a few more friends cross the finish line, and then I caught up with everyone else.

the three of us

anne marie me

The three of us had all finished and were feeling pretty good despite just finishing a full marathon. We took all of our obligatory photos and caught the bus back to Fort Wilderness, where we made our way to the hot tub as soon as we could when we got back.

That evening, we checked out the “after party” at Downtown Disney. It was pretty much more photo opportunities, some live music, undiscounted marathon merchandise, and some of the restaurants offered food discounts.

Time to reflect…

My 2011 WDW Marathon race was just plain awful. I didn’t have fun. I battled blisters on my feet, and I walked the last 11 or so miles (even though I probably could have tried to run a little bit). I honestly felt like I had given up. Although my time was 94 seconds slower than that awful race, I had fun this time. I felt like I really accomplished something. I gave it everything I had, and I was still able to do some running intervals even at the very end.

I said last time that I would never run a marathon at that weight again. I was disgusted by my pictures. To be honest, I’m the same weight now as I was then. I look at the photos from this race, and I’m not going to lie. I see the fat rolls and the extra weight on my entire body. But do you know what else I see? I see a confident, strong, and happy athlete.

I’ve now run two full marathons, and I’m so damn proud of myself. I’ve gone from the sophomore on the high school cross country team who always brought up the rear and was almost denied a varsity letter because I was so slow to a two-time marathoner. Fifteen-year-old me would be amazed and so proud if she knew I’d still be running at 31.

Completing this marathon has really inspired me to lose the weight and really get more involved with yoga. And I’d also like to give bootcamp or Crossfit a try. I know I definitely want to sign up for next year’s WDW Marathon, and maybe I’ll sign up to run Goofy (1/2 marathon on Saturday and the full marathon on Sunday)!

Did you run the WDW Marathon? What did you think? What’s your favorite race you’ve ever done? Which race do you really want to do in the future?

17 Responses to “Walt Disney World Marathon 2013 Recap”

  1. notinjersey January 24, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    congrats. I don’t think I’ll ever run a marathon! you look great and so happy in all of the pictures. I look like I’m dying in most of the 1/2 marathon pics! (I did the wine and dine). – Dara

    http://notinjersey.blogspot.com

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 24, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Congratulations, friend – SO proud of you!! As I look ahead to my first marathon this fall, you are such an inspiration! :)

  3. Meghann January 24, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Congrats! I’m so proud of you! It’s so funny you mention the photos because I saw the same thing you saw – a strong, confident runner who looked so happy to be out there. You looked like you were having FUN, it simply oozes from your photos and that’s something to be proud of. The conditions were awful, but you raced smart and kept that smile on your face. Way to go, Andrea! Hopefully I’ll be right there with you doing Goofy next year!

  4. Wdwalone January 24, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Congrats on a great race. Sadly, I injured my hip during the half and had to pull out of the full, so no third Goofy yet. I did spectate the full and you did great on a very hot day.

  5. Donna Miller January 24, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    You inspire me! Thanks for sharing the highlights!

  6. Jackie @ MomJovi January 24, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    So proud of you friend! You did something most people (including me!) will never and can never do. THAT is all that matters. And I said it to you in France and I’ll say it again — you looked like a freaking rock star doing it! You were smiling! You were having fun! And you were, to quote Forrest Gump, RUNNING! :) Kudos to you

  7. nycfitgirl January 24, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    Awesome job! You should be really proud of yoruself!

  8. Sarah Watts January 24, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Congratulations Andrea!! When I look at all these pics I see a HAPPY, healthy woman! Seriously, it doesn’t even look like you’ve been running for 6 hours, ’cause you have that big smile on your face!! So proud of you!!!

  9. brakeforhobbits January 24, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    You are an inspiration Andrea. I am so proud of you and almost got choked up reading this. I’m training for the Princess Half next month, and am having a decent time with it. I’m more focused on finishing and having fun then breaking any records. I just want to prove to myself I can accomplish this. I went from barely being able to run, to now doing a mile without stopping and being able to maintain a 12-13 minute mile when I run long distance. I am a happy confident athlete, and I never thought I could get this far. So keep it up, because I plan to, and maybe one day we can run a race together.
    Jennifer S (from Olivia’s)

  10. Jaime January 24, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Congratulations!!! Being happy is the most important part. I did Goofy this year and it was also my first marathon. (I didn’t plan it that way, I was supposed to run NYC, but it was canceled)

    It was so hot and humid that I struggled. I wouldn’t say I had fun, but I’m really glad I did it.

    As for my favorite race- I love the Disneyland Half. It was my first half and I’ve run it 3 years in a row.

    Already sort of planning on tackling Goofy again in 2015. Maybe I’ll see you there!

  11. M January 24, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Congrats! Being a two-time marathoner is AMAZING! You managed to take awesome race pictures all the way through where you’re smiling and don’t look like death. That’s another feat in and of itself! Hopefully I’ll get there one day. I’m doing my third half this weekend in Miami.
    I just started Cross Fit last week in Waterford. It’s a hike from Celebration but feel free to stop in anytime. :) They do a free one-week trial. No strings attached. I’m going M, W, F and sometimes Saturdays.

  12. Sara@runninginpinkproject January 24, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    I cant wait to run the Princess 1/2 with you next month friend! Im so proud of you!!!!! xo

  13. Karly January 25, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    Hi there Andrea! I LOVED your recap. To me you inspire not just yourself but me too!! I really want to figure out a way to do a marathon someday… well after this next baby at least. I think you looked amazing in your photo’s and I’m so glad you are keeping up with your healthy lifestyle. We have been toying with the idea of staying at Fort Wilderness if we are able to take the girls to disney world someday. Those cabins look nice!

  14. Emily January 25, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Congratulations!! You look so happy and strong in your pictures!! What an amazing accomplishment – and to have fun doing it!

  15. K Secura January 29, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Congratulations!!! This was my second marathon too. You definitely look strong in your photos!

    Just wondering about your stay at Ft Wilderness cabins: how long of a bus ride was it to the start? Was the bus service pretty good?

    And how did your new CamelBak work out?

    Thanks for being such an inspiration!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to Weight Watchers « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 25, 2013

    […] At least not for me. And I know that Weight Watchers is the only way I can do this. So now that the WDW Marathon is over, I was back at the meetings as soon as […]

  2. Upcoming Race Schedule « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 26, 2013

    […] that the WDW Marathon is over, you’d think I’d be taking some time to recover. Noooo. Not me! Here’s my upcoming […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

