Back to Weight Watchers

25 Jan

I had made the decision to return to Weight Watchers quite some time ago, but I wanted to be done with marathon training because long distance running and losing weight don’t really mix. At least not for me. And I know that Weight Watchers is the only way I can do this. So now that the WDW Marathon is over, I was back at the meetings as soon as possible.

weight watchers sign

I was greeted by the warm, smiling face of my leader Kerri, who had also just ran the WDW Marathon and was really happy to see me return.

I filled out all of my necessary paperwork, weighed in, and got settled in. I was so excited to get back in to the program and work on creating a better body to run my next marathon.

ww meeting 3

This month’s topic is “Spaces”, and this week focused our kitchens and how an organized refrigerator can help motivate us and keep us on track. Some ways we can spruce up our fridges:

  • Clean out the expired product
  • Add lots of color- seeing all of those colorful fruits and vegetables always makes me happy!
  • Buy a Brita pitcher and keep it full- having ice cold, filtered water helps me for sure!
  • Cut up veggies as soon as you get home from the store. Let’s be honest. If you want a snack, and you have to choose between grabbing something quick and slightly unhealthy and cutting up some veggies, you’re going to choose the quickest thing, right?
  • Grab a Sharpie and write the Points values on things in your fridge and pantry.

What are your tips for keeping a Weight Watchers-friendly kitchen?

Photo from the week:

ww week 1 210

Yes, I’m actually telling you all my weight this time. I think it will help me stay focused.

Tomorrow is my first weigh in! I’ll be back to report.

8 Responses to “Back to Weight Watchers”

  1. Casey January 25, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Good Luck! I’m trying to figure out if I want to sign up for WW again now that the Marathon is over. I also have a hard time staying on the program when I’m in training. This may be the perfect time to try again.

  2. onthevector January 25, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Awesome for you in knowing what works! Good luck on your journey…positive thoughts being sent your way from California!

  3. Logan @ Mountains and Miles January 25, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    I don’t have any WW specific suggestions as I’ve never done it, but I DEFINITELY agree on the preparing snacks and things right when you get home from the store. It’s so much easier to just go grab a baggie of chopped carrots or a pre-portioned bag of wheat thins and laughing cow cheese or something. Definitely keeps me from over eating or reaching for more convenient, less healthy snacks. I also know there are just some things, like chips, that I will never be able to eat in moderation – so I just don’t ever let them in the house. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about your journey! Also congrats on a great marathon!

  4. Tiffany - Colorado Mama January 25, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    Good luck Andrea – I know your weight has been a struggle for a very long time. I am also so happy you WDM was so much better than last time. I am glad you had fun and enjoyed it!!!

  5. Susan January 25, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    Bravo for rejoining Weight Watchers and healthy eating! . You are clearly in phenomenal shape being able to complete a marathon. Is it possible that you’ve lost inches versus losing pounds on the scale?

    The reason I ask is because I had this same discussion with my doctor, and told him I was frustrated that despite the workouts, the scale wasn’t moving the way I expected it to (I think I lost 5 lbs total). He asked me how my clothes were fitting – I told him they were clearly looser (I went down a size), people kept telling me I looked like I lost a lot of weight (they said it looked 15-20 lbs????!!!!), and my cardio was clearly improved because I wasn’t dying during my workouts anymore. He told me if my clothes were that much looser, then most likely the fat was being replaced with muscle that weighs more, and if my cardio was improving, to try not to get too hung up on the scale number (difficult I know)! I did manage to lose a little more weight just by trying to make healthier choices. Good luck! Slow and steady wins the race (both on the road and on the scale)!

    • runeatdatesleep January 25, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Awesome job, Susan! Keep up the awesome work! Unfortunately, I was definitely getting bigger despite marathon training. I tend to overeat because I think “I deserve it” after I run so many miles. It doesn’t exactly equate. LOL

      But I am taking measurements this time around on WW so when the scale isn’t budging, I’ll be able to see if I’m losing inches instead.

  6. Sabrina January 25, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    You are right, long distance and weight loss don’t mix. I gained weight while training for the Tower of Terror 10 miler. Good for you taking the steps and going back! I’ve often considered WW too, but I haven’t bit the bullet yet.

  7. Debby H January 25, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    You are an awesome inspiration!! Thank you for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

