Weight Watchers Week One

26 Jan

I’m never one to jump into something with both feet. So on this first week of Weight Watchers, I chose two parts of the program I knew I could handle. They’re challenging, but if I worked hard at them, they would become habit, and I could move on to another healthy habit. So, I chose to write down everything I ate without tracking the points. I wanted to get an idea of how much I was actually eating before completely diving in to the program. I also tried extra hard to cut out soda and drink a lot more water. I succeeded at both drinking more water and tracking everything, but the scale did not reflect my hard work.

I was down a few pounds as of Thursday morning (according to my scale), but I had a sodium-filled Vietnamese meal on Thursday evening. Whoops! So, I ended up gaining 1 pound this week. I might be the only person who gains on their first week of Weight Watchers. But I’m pretty sure it’s water retention, and next week will be much better!

This week’s meeting focused on creating healthy dinners. We all came up with a dinner idea composed of at least 3 “power foods”, 1 fruit/vegetable, and it must be 10 Points or under. I shared my Mexican Brown Rice Casserole recipe, which I need to revise because I now add ground turkey, and I’m not sure what the actual Points value is.

What are your favorite low-Point dinners? I have a hard time finding time to carve out for meal planning and preparing.

Photo from the week:

ww week 1 211

This week’s focus for me will be to continue drinking more water, tracking with points values, and fitting in more activity.

8 Responses to “Weight Watchers Week One”

  1. Tiffani January 26, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Sodium gets me every time!! Good luck this week :) you can do it.

  2. Ashley January 26, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    You are awesome!! I know you can do this!! XOXO

  3. jessey January 26, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Even if scale didn’t show, you made a conscious effort and that is fantastic!

    For menu planning, on Wednesday nights I decide my dinners for the next week (I bring the exact same breakfast, lunch, and 2 snacks to work every day) – I have a list of my ‘go-to’ meals, as well as a binder full of recipes I want to try – so at least I am not having to think up things out of thin air.

    But that being said, my main issue is dinner – I sware I’ve gained 80% of all my weight re-gain between the hour of 6-7 pm, munching on cheese while I make dinner, and then loving the food I make so much that I overeat. Thus my big thing is counting the points beforehand so I know how much of dinner I can have.

    I had fun with the 10 point dinner exercise – I definitely got some great ideas!

  4. Kerri January 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Yes sodium is a tough one!! So proud of you…your attitude is awesome toward this….one step at a time. You’ll get there for sure:))

  5. Casey January 26, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    Keep om keepin’ on! You’ve made the first steps and you’ll get results!

  6. Juli January 26, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    My favorite low points meal is Vegetable Soup. Water or fat free broth and as many free veggies as you like. The original WW recipe included cabbage (best part, I swear!), carrots, onions, zucchini. As long as you don’t add peppers, it will be amazing. I’ve thrown every veggie I had in there. It’s zero points plus unless you add beans, potatoes or corn.

  7. Danielle K January 30, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    You’re making steps in the right direction, so don’t let the pound get you down. I just joined weight watchers a few weeks ago and am doing really well on it. I just made turkey and mango picadillo that I found on WW online recipes. It was only 5 points and really tasty.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weight Watchers Week Two « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - February 3, 2013

    […] jump in to a “lifestyle change” by implementing every aspect of the program right away. On the first week of the program, I focused on tracking everything I ate without counting Points and drinking more water. This week, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

