Beach Paper Firecracker 5K

4 Jul

This morning was the Beach Paper Firecracker 5K at Grove Park in Rehoboth Beach, DE. It was a road race through a shaded neighborhood, but part of the run was by the ocean. So pretty! I kept up with some of the “faster” runners and paced myself with them. I thought to myself “you’re not going to die by going any faster”, so I picked up the pace this time. My goal was to run 35 minutes, but I knew the whole time I was running faster than that (and I didn’t feel the need to ever quit or walk). I came around the corner to see the clock at the finish line, and it said “33”. I swore I was going to throw up and my knees were about to buckle, but I kept pushing. I ended the race with a time of 33:44, about a 10:40 mile, down from about an 11:40 mile. I’m absolutely ecstatic and totally surprised.

Happy 4th everyone!

Leave a Reply

