Weekend Recap

14 Jul
On Friday, I headed up the road to meet Christian at his house for our first real date. I watched Rounders while he made ravioli and garlic cheese bread for dinner. I know I’m making progress because I would have normally eaten a heck of a lot more than what I did. I only ate half of what he put on my plate, and I only drizzled a tiny bit of ranch on my salad. It was a delicious dinner, and so sweet of him to make it for me. After dinner, we went to see Public Enemies with Johnny Depp. Holy hotness! It was a really great movie!
On Saturday, I headed down the road to the beach and enjoyed the ride despite the beach traffic. I got to the gym around 1 and hit the stationary bike for a 10.4 mile ride (35 minutes- 30 minutes with a 5 minute cool down). I didn’t have the energy to do any weight lifting. Plus, I had to get home and get ready for Robbie and Mallory’s wedding that evening.
One of the most exciting parts of losing weight is putting on clothes that used to be really tight. Well, I was in a friend’s wedding in April and wore a size 16 JCrew dress. It was super tight, bu
t today, I zipped it right up, and there was room to spare. Here’s a little comparison.
Maybe it’s not as noticeable as I think it is, but the small things mattered to me on this one. The straps weren’t digging into my shoulders. My stomach wasn’t bulging out under the A-line. My hips didn’t look enormous. And my boobs weren’t flattened. And I think my face has slimmed down. I felt totally confident. Confident enough to make out with this guy at the wedding! Hahaha!
For dinner at the wedding, they had crab imperial, sliced prime rib, grilled chicken, green bean casserole, wheat rolls, and salad with raspberry vinagerette. I had a tiny serving of crab, a few bites of chicken, a roll, and a large portion of salad. I was proud I didn’t over-indulge, and I totally avoided the cake. Oh, but I did have one amaretto sour cocktail.
After the wedding, a few of us headed back to Andrea and Freddy’s house for a game of poker. I ended up falling asleep on their couch around 4am and woke up to drive home at 10am on Sunday.
I had plans of going to the gym and laying out by the pool on Sunday, but I felt like I needed a day to rest before another week began. I downloaded Absolute Poker and played that for most of the day with little spurts of house cleaning here and there. Oh, and my friend Jen from the Walt Disney World College Program and I chatted on Facebook for quite a while. We hadn’t talked for a few years, so it was good to catch up! I fell asleep on the couch at 7pm for a nap and ended up falling asleep for the whole night! I must have needed a day off from working out!
Monday Today was another one of my monthly check-ups with the doctor. Last time, the nurse weighed me in at 195 but took 2 pounds off for clothes, so I was 193. This time, the doctor weighed me in at 190 but didn’t take 2 pounds off. So technically, I lost 5 pounds this time. Did that even make sense? I’ve lost a total of 10 pounds in 10 weeks, according to the doctor’s scale. However, on my scale, I’ve lost 10.8 pounds. Close enough.

The doctor said he wants to see me lose more each month. While I think that may be great, I think this is the fastest I’ve ever lost weight. I explained that to him- that I’ve NEVER lost 5 pounds in a month before. I also reiterated (sp?) that I have PCOS, and that just makes it that much more difficult for me to lose weight. He kinda took back what he said and realized I had a point.

I also think that my confidence gain is more important than what the scale says. I’ve taken off 3 and a half minutes off of my first 5K time of the season. I’m now running 3.1 miles in 33:44 minutes. I think that’s pretty awesome for someone who just started running competitively. Plus, I’ve lost inches and a pant size. So all these things keep me motivated, and I will not let the number on the scale determine my happiness!

I have really started to like Miley Cyrus’ song “The Climb”, and I think the lyrics really speak to me and my weight loss:
There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

This whole process isn’t about what my goal is or how long it takes me. I really am enjoying watching myself shrink physically and grow mentally. I’m learning so much about myself, and I like where I’m going.
3 Responses to “Weekend Recap”

  1. MochaTrina July 14, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    I need this dress! TOO CUTE!

  2. MochaTrina July 14, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    Looking good. I can tell the difference.

  3. Caren July 15, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    I can definitely tell a difference, you look great! I'm really impressed with your time for a 5K, my best time is around 35 minutes but that's on the treadmill, I cannot seem to get faster but as you know I'm working on it. Thanks for the stretching tip, I'll have to try that one out. My hips are really bad this morning after that four miles yesterday. It sucks. I laughed at your "Indian style" comment, I don't really see anything wrong with it but they do say "Cris-Cross Applesauce" in my son's preschool instead of Indian Style. So silly!

Leave a Reply

