You’re invited!!!

16 Jul


You all are welcome to join me in my celebration to welcome back the 180s!!! When I stepped on to the scale this morning, I saw a 1 and two cute snowmen! 188!!! I imagine I woke up the neighbors with my squeal of happiness. I’ve now lost a total of 13.6 pounds since May 7. Plus, I now fit comfortably in my size 12 pants. Last week when I tried them on, they were a little snug so I continued to wear my size 14s. But today, the 12s went right on with no sucking in.

I imagine my weight loss today had something to do with the 5K I ran last night. It was a hot, flat, dumb course through a parking lot of a business complex, and I spent most of the time squinting because the sun was in my eyes. The race began at 6:30, so the sun was going down but it was still hot as heck! My sweat was burning my eyes, my legs were getting heavy by mile 2, and the dumb race people didn’t even mark the miles! Yes, I’m making up excuses, but I know what I need to help me run better. And I think marked miles helps, because you know whether or not you’re on pace or not. I’m going to try and not run another race put on by these people and just stick with Seashore Striders. Plus, I think I stressed myself out over running in an evening race as opposed to my normal morning races. I was so worried about having a full tummy. I just felt heavy, you know? I admit I had to stop and walk a few times because I could barely feel my legs anymore, but I finished in 35:45, my second best time.
There was this older lady near me in the race who would walk most of the time, but when I caught up to her, she would look at me like I was Satan, and she would start sprinting. If I see her again, I’ll high-five her face with my hand.
For the first time since a high school cross country meet, my parents were waiting for me at the finish line. They were cheering and clapping, and it felt so good to hear they were proud of me. I’m getting a little teary just thinking about it. It means a lot to me to have supporters there.
I had to soak myself in a hot bath last night because I think I tore my back up pretty good in the race. Not sure how, but I did. It still hurts this morning, and my legs are burning! My bedroom is on the third floor of my house, and it was quite the struggle to get up there last night. I contemplated falling asleep on the couch, but it was cooler upstairs.
Well, that’s it for now. Thank you to all of my new followers 🙂
5 Responses to “You’re invited!!!”

  1. SassyCassie July 16, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Yay for the 180's! Congrats on the race 🙂

  2. Danielle July 16, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Go you for making it to the 180's! You're doing a great job with your weight loss and will be at your goal before you know it!

  3. Caren July 16, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    It does sound like a crappy race but at least you did pretty well. I think that's a very respectable time. I can't wait to be in the 180s but I've got a bit of a "weigh" to go. ha ha! I crack myself up! I only lost .6 this week but I've been slacking a bit and need to get back to being really serious about my food choices.

  4. Brandy July 21, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Wooo hoo!!! I love a new #!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LDAF Race for Autism 5K Race Recap « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 11, 2010

    […] race was directed by the same group who did the Delaware Hospice 5K last year. I was looking at my watch after running 11 minutes and thought for sure I’d see the […]

Leave a Reply

