Five miles is FAAAAAAAAAAAAR

24 Jul

The 5-mile race is quickly approaching! Last night was my last training run for it, and I ran it how I would run the race:

1st mile- run
2nd mile- walk/jog
3rd mile- run
4th mile- walk/jog
5th mile- run
I don’t quite remember my time splits, but I did the whole thing in 1 hour 6 minutes, which is about a 13 minute mile or a little over, correct? Not too shabby for the longest distance I’ve EVER run.
My back was hurting afterwards, so I laid down with a heating pad for about a half hour before falling asleep. Before I knew it, I was crying my eyes out. I was sooo proud of what I had accomplished tonight. I’m doing things I never thought I could do! Yay me!!!
Oh, and yesterday was the first day I received a comment from a non-family member about my weight loss. I go to a Womens Council of Realtors meeting once a month, and it had been a few months since I had been. One of the women said to me “you’ve lost weight!” And of course, I asked her if my mom had told her I’d been losing weight so she’d say something to me. Why can’t I just take a compliment for what it is?! But I eventually thanked her a billion times and spent the whole meeting absolutely beaming! My efforts are showing, and I couldn’t be more proud of myself!
Now someone tell me why I had a bagel with cream cheese this morning?!?! Bad, bad girl!
6 Responses to “Five miles is FAAAAAAAAAAAAR”

  1. Danielle July 24, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Go you for running five miles last night! You should be so proud of yourself!

  2. Brandy July 24, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    Go Andrea! You're a rock star!

  3. Emmett July 27, 2009 at 1:12 am #

    Awesome job Andrea! I love the blog!

  4. SassyCassie July 27, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    That's awesome!

  5. Michelle July 27, 2009 at 7:15 pm #

    If you do it that matters! Run, walk or jog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eighteen Miles of Self Doubt « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 12, 2010

    […] Yesterday’s scheduled training run called for 18 miles. Wow, how in the world have I gotten this far in marathon training? I remember when 5 miles was tough. […]

Leave a Reply

