Emotional weekend

2 Aug

I haven’t brought it up on here, but I had a really rough week at work, and I’m hurting financially. I’ve spent all weekend re-budgeting, finding things to sell on eBay, and cutting back on some of my monthly expenses. I have an almost brand new Wii to sell if anyone is interested. I’d really like $175 for it, plus shipping.

But other than those things, I was really affected by Jen’s post yesterday morning about her mom dying suddenly. She was hit by a car backing out of a driveway while she was pushing her grandchild in a stroller. Before she hit the ground, she pushed the baby out of the way, and the baby was unharmed. I thought about calling my mom all day yesterday, but I couldn’t quite figure out what to say. But I called her just now to tell her about Jen’s post, and I told her how much I love her. It’s not like I don’t tell her often, but I just wanted her to know. My family’s been dealing with a lot of drama this week, and I hope we all get back to our normal selves and realize how much we all mean to each other.

But to bring this sad post to a happy ending, I’m now 183.2!!! 18.4 pounds lost!

5 Responses to “Emotional weekend”

  1. Devon August 2, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    I completely understand about the financial issues. I lost my job a few weeks ago, and its caused my husband and I to cut back considerably.I feel so bad for Jen. My heart goes out to her.Yay for your weight loss though!

  2. Danielle August 2, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    I agree – Jen's post totally shook me. I just can't imagine what their family is going through right now.Yea for your weight loss, though!

  3. Ruth Rogers August 2, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Congrats on the weight loss… I'm with you on calling my mom. I knew I would break down in tears so I am calling her today. I feel to bad for Jen and her family.

  4. Caren August 2, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    That's such a sad story, I saw it on a few blogs before I realized it was THAT Jen whose blog I've really been enjoying. I lost my mom to brain cancer not that long ago and although it was fairly sudden, it wasn't sudden like Jen's loss, I imagine that makes it all the more difficult. I'm so sorry for her. As for you, sorry about the financial issues, it's pretty common these days, believe me, I understand completely, we're going through it too. Your weight loss however is fantastic! I had a good week last week too but since I didn't blog this weekend, I haven't posted about it. Stay tuned…I'm catching up to you. 😉

  5. SassyCassie August 3, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    I'm sorry you're having such a tough financial time. I hope it turns around soon!

Leave a Reply

