Score!!!

3 Aug

Since finances have been rough, I’ve been making head-way with budgetting and cutting back.

On Saturday, I ventured to my local Comcast store to return a defective cable box and tried to convince the rude ass lady to give me the Double Play (tv and internet) instead of the Triple Play (tv, internet, and phone) since I don’t even own a home phone. She got unnecessarily snotty with me, and if it weren’t for the glass barrier between her and myself, I would have knocked her yellow teeth out of her head. But that’s beside the point. She told me the Double Play was for new customers only. I told her it was ridiculous to reward new customers with great deals and not customers they’ve had for over 10 years. I walked out very angry and thought that was the end of it. Well, I call the Customer Service number today, and she was very happy to oblige. She kept all of my same services but dropped my phone service to local calls only, and I saved $70/month. Woohoo!!!
Also, I just went through all of my monthly bills to see if there are any additional charges the creditor has been charging without my knowing. I found AT&T’s been charging me $4.00 a month for PA State Sales Tax. I haven’t lived in PA for a year and a half. I know it’s a very small charge, but hey, $4.00 is $4.00. The AT&T rep I spoke to tried to tell me DE has the same sales tax, but I had to tell her several times DE doesn’t have ANY sales tax. I wish I had caught this earlier. That’s $72 I’ve spent for nothing! I think I might just call back and see if they can credit my account with that $72.
Then, I looked up my credit card reward points, and I was finally eligible to receive something
halfway decent. I ordered the iHome iPod alarm clock. I don’t even own a stereo, so this will be a nice substitute.

Today, at my annual appointment with the “lady doctor”, she gave me a free sample of my BCP, so that’s a savings of $60.

I’m feeling a little better now that I’ve made some progress with bills and saving some money.
2 Responses to “Score!!!”

  1. MochaTrina@Me So Hongry... August 3, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet deals for you today. Yeah me and Comcast DO NOT get along. I kicked them to the curb last month. The people are extremely rude and always blame you for your equipment not working.Way to score that alarm clock Ipod radio thingy. I'm trying to accumulate enough points to get an I-touch. Yes…times are hard and every little bit helps.

  2. SassyCassie August 4, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    Well aren't you savvy? Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

