Too tired to be motivated

8 Aug

Dating someone new is always mentally exhausting for me, but the guy I’m seeing works the graveyard shift, so this has also been physically exhausting. On Wednesday night, we talked on the phone until 4:30 am, and then I spent the night with him the following night and hardly got any sleep. So therefore, I’ve just been way too tired to work out and think about proper nutrition. I only worked out once this week, which was a 10 mile stationary bike ride at the Y. But thankfully, I’ve only gained .6 since Monday.

Christian and I had a lovely date on Thursday evening. Our plan was for me to meet him at his house and hang out with him while he worked on some stuff around his house, and then we’d go to my house for the rest of the evening. However, he had gotten a flat tire, so we traveled the county looking for a new tire for him. We had no luck, but we ended up having a very late dinner at Olive Garden. Now this is where I KNOW I’ve changed my relationship with food. I would have normally ordered a meal and eaten the entire thing plus 3 or so breadsticks. I ordered the chicken parmigiana with the chicken and gnocchi soup. I had half the bowl of soup, which didn’t have much flavor anyway, and only one breast of chicken. The pasta that came with the chicken was regular spaghetti noodles, but I haven’t had white pasta in soo long, that it didn’t even taste good. And I didn’t even keep the leftovers. I told Christian he could have them for his lunch the next day. (More on my relationship changes with food in my next post).

Finances are getting better. My Wii is selling on eBay today, along with a Lost DVD. But with money being low, I haven’t been able to buy the groceries I want to buy. I’ve been having Lance crackers for a few lunches, or whatever else I can find in the break room at work.

Work’s been pretty awesome. I don’t know if I’ve shared what I do. I’m a mortgage loan officer & processor with my family’s mortgage company. This week, I took on the duties of Human Resources and interviewed some really great people, and I offered 3 people a loan officer position. I’ve heard back from 2 of them, and I’m waiting on the other. The two that responded both said they want to join our company. It’s always exciting to hire new people! But not exciting to train them, which I don’t think I’m good at.

Since it’s rather hot out today, I’m spending the day inside playing online poker and catching up with the DVR. I’m supposed to meet my mom at the beach tomorrow morning. Next weekend, I’m cleaning my parents’ house, and they’re paying me $60 for it. Yay!

I am rather disappointed in myself… there was a 5K race this morning, and I totally slept through it. I hadn’t signed up for it, but I needed to run it to be eligible for the Championship Series. I guess I’ve lost my motivation. Must.find.it.again!

3 Responses to “Too tired to be motivated”

  1. MochaTrina@Me So Hongry... August 8, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    Yeah you did good at the Olive Garden cause I can easily put down a 1/2 dozen or so breadsticks!! Dating a new guy and an old guy is tiring. I'm about to kick mine to the curb complete with a footprint on his butt! Good luck with your relationship. It's hard out there for us cute, sexy, jazzy ladies…lol.

  2. Caren August 9, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    Sounds like you really are doing great. I'm so happy for you. I hope you are able to make this a change that lasts for the rest of your life. I say that to you because I am considerably older and I feel like I finally get it but of course feel like there are so many years I wasted on being fat… and that's AFTER having lost a lot of weight to get down to 132 pounds about 10 years ago! That will not happen again, I know it. Good job at The Olive Garden. I love it there, I actually think it's a place where you can make fairly healthy choices if you ask questions, eat smaller portions and limit your bread stick intake (which is definitely the hardest part) 😉 Keep up your hard work, you're doing great!

  3. Monica August 11, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Awesome! I love how confident and happy you are with your job and it does sound fun. Sorry you missed the 5k, Im supposed to run my first one in Feb, kind of nervous! The easiest way to get motivated is just to do it, dont think about it, just start running and then the motivation comes later.

Leave a Reply

