Food Reviews

14 Aug
Last weekend, I set out to find some delicious, organic, and generally good-for-you foods. I first stopped at Fisher Bay Market in my neighborhood to see what I could find. This is a picture of the store and some of the other local stores in my neighborhood. I think it’s super cute!

After reading everyone’s posts about almond butter, I went there specifically looking for it. Unfortunately, a small jar of it was over $10, so I passed on that. But I did pick up some PB Loco in the Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Duo and White Chocolate Raspberry. Oh, and I bought some Bare Naked granola too.

The peanut butters should be outlawed. Seriously, they’re soooo good! I usually spread a little bit on Ezekial Bread toast every morning. I’ve had to break out the tablespoon to make sure I’m portioning it out right. It has 190 calories (same as Jif I believe), but it’s gluten-free, all natural, etc. (I forgot to take a picture of the nutrition label).
I also tried Amy’s Pesto Tortelli Bowl (recommended by Danielle), which is outstanding! It’s 430 calories, which I don’t think is too bad for dinner.
I had heard good reviews about this new natural food store a few miles from me, so I decided to check that out as well. Naturally, it’s called Good For You, and honestly, I never want to go back. At first, I thought “wow, this is heaven for someone like me”. But as I roamed the store 3 times,

I saw the same things I could buy at my local Super G, but the prices were outrageous! Plus, no one offered to help me find anything. I ended up only buying one item, the Ezekial Bread, only because I had never seen it in my grocery store and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since Holly from The Biggest Loser wrote about it on her MySpace. But guess what I found when I went to the grocery store next? The bread. It was in the frozen foods with the other natural food items. I had always been looking in the bread aisle. Silly me! But I’m so glad I found it.. it’s wonderful! And one slice is only 80 calories and very filling.
Well, that’s it for now. I’m in the middle of working, and there’s so much left to do before I leave at 5, so I better go. I’m going to the movies tonight with my good friend Ellen to see The Time Traveler’s Wife. Have a great weekend!
4 Responses to “Food Reviews”

  1. Dana (www.eatsleepgetfit.com) August 14, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    That PB Loco stuff is all over blog land. I am going to have to get some next time I go to Whole Foods!

  2. MochaTrina@Me So Hongry... August 15, 2009 at 12:58 am #

    I received an award and now I'm paying it forward to you. It's the One Lovely Blog Award. You can find the details on my The Good, The Bad, and The Hongry blog.http://thegoodthebadandthehongry.blogspot.com/I think you follow my Me So Hongry blog. But anyway you can find the details on my…And the award goes to post, which I'm still working on. I enjoy your blog…keep on blogging.

  3. The Amazing Shrinking Girl August 15, 2009 at 5:27 am #

    Those stores are adorable! They almost look like they're out of a movie set! Let us know how the movie was… I wanna see it too!

  4. Ruth Rogers August 15, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    PB loco is great! One of their restaurants is out here in AZ. They only serve pb and jelly and they have so many different types of pb it's crazy

Leave a Reply

