20 Pounds, 20 Followers

24 Aug

Wow, I just noticed I have 20 followers! I never thought people would actually read my blog and be interested enough in it to follow along. Thank you, thank you!!!

On Saturday, I hopped on the scale and saw 181.6. That means I’ve lost 20 pounds on.the.dot! Go me!!!!
Sunday was another 5K race, and I lucked out this time because it was right in my neighborhood. Ok, maybe the word “luck” shouldn’t be used to describe anything about this race. It was HOT and outrageously humid. I could only stand to run the first mile straight through, but after that, I did running and walking intervals. My time was something around 38 minutes, my worst time ever. I felt like I was going to throw up the entire time, and by the time I was done and crossing the finish line, I threw up all over the road. Nice, huh? Seems to be a trend for me, eh? None of the people working the race came over to help me, but this one little kid (maybe 10 years old) came over to me with a cup of water. He was so kind. I just can’t believe no one came over to me to see if I was okay. I immediately left and walked home. Thank goodness my house was in walking distance. There was no way I could drive after that.
I spent yesterday afternoon poolside with my friends Ellen and Missy. Missy’s expecting her first child! We had a fabulous time gossiping and talking about our men =)
Oh, 20 pounds sounds glorious! I’m so proud of myself!! =)
6 Responses to “20 Pounds, 20 Followers”

  1. Hadley August 24, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    20 pounds is amazing! You should be proud of yourself. Way to go!

  2. SassyCassie August 24, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    Losing 20 pounds is great-congratulations! It sucks that you got sick after the race, but at least you finished. That's a major accomplishment.

  3. Stef August 24, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    I just found your blog and think it is so amazing and you are doing an awesome job. I just got into running about a week ago and I too am looking to loose weight. Good Luck!Stefe1202.wordpress.com

  4. Tiffany August 25, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Whenever you have a race and it is hot do not expect to set a new PR. Just deal with the heat, run slower, drink more and enjoy the exercise.

  5. Dancing Sweet Pea August 25, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    Congrats on your 20 pound loss! That's great!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CHEF Run for Education 5K « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 18, 2010

    […] No medal for me placing 4th. I wish now that I would have tried to sprint ahead of her, but my fear of vomiting all over the finish line stopped me. I know I’m being a poor sport. I’ll get over it. But I can walk away knowing I ran the whole […]

Leave a Reply

