Gateway to 8K

26 Sep

I started the Gateway to 8K program tonight. You can find podcast mixes for it on DJ Beat Smith’s website. Week One’s workout goes like this:

5-min. warmup
7 min. run
1 min. walk
7 min. run
1 min. walk
7 min. run
1 min. walk
7 min. run
1 min. walk
5-min. cooldown

I felt so good throughout the whole run with no aches, pains, or thoughts of wanting to quit. I felt really light on my feet. I kept telling myself “you’re strong, you’re an athlete, you can do this”. I measured my run on mapmyrun.com, and it ended up being 3.31 miles including the warm-up and cool down.

After my run, I took a hot shower and headed out to Subway to get a healthy dinner, but I couldn’t resist the thought of fajitas from Moe’s. Why did I do this? I totally sabotaged my great run with a 1000 calorie dinner. What the hell? And it wasn’t even worth it. It was so salty I’ll probably be drinking a whole gallon of water tonight.

I was 178.6 this morning, and I imagine those fajitas are going to make me gain tomorrow. I’m really beating myself up over this.

Ugh!

5 Responses to “Gateway to 8K”

  1. SassyCassie September 26, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    Don't beat yourself up! Everyone's allowed a treat now and then!

  2. JW.BW September 27, 2009 at 5:41 am #

    So glad I came across your blog. I really love it!! I will be sure and stop by to see how you are doing!! Keep up the great work!

  3. whenilookinthemirror September 27, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Awesome running! Just came across your blog and look forward to following your progress.

  4. Caren September 27, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    Sounds like a good plan. I might have to check that one out. I do well with plans that I can follow. I just completed one that helps you run four miles and improve your 5K speed and it definitely helped me considering I got down to 32:30 on a regular basis now. How far is 8K anyway…?

  5. Kat September 28, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    Hey! Looks like a great program. I might have to try that next! Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

