Building endurance… apparently!

28 Sep

After feeling really guilty about my fajita splurge, I worked it all off at the gym yesterday. I was determined to do 10 miles on the bike and 5 miles on the treadmill one way or another. And I did it! I did 9.25 miles on the bike in 30 minutes with a 5 minute cool down, so it was over 10 miles. Then, I busted out 5 miles power walking on the treadmill with incline intervals every other minute, which took me 1 hour and 16 minutes. I have never spent so much time at the gym before, and I love how I feel today. The soreness the day after a good work-out feels so good to me! I’m apparently building a ton of endurance because I’ve never lasted that long.

Today’s a rest day… or maybe it’s because I’d rather just play poker tonight instead. But, my plan is to get up early tomorrow morning to run Day 2 of Gateway to 8K. I think I’m adjusting the program to 2 days on each week so that I can quickly move on to longer distances to prepare for the half-marathon. Caren, I looked up the answer to your question… 8K= 4.97 miles.
Mondays are my official weigh-in days, and I was back to 178.6 this morning. A grand total of 23 pounds lost! Woohoo!
4 Responses to “Building endurance… apparently!”

  1. Natasha September 28, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    23 pounds! Wow! That's the size of a Christmas turkey!

  2. Tiffany September 28, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    23 lbs lost is fantastic. Can't wait to be there myself!

  3. Caren September 28, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    You're awesome and you're definitely building endurance. I so wish we lived closer together, you'd be great to work out with. Thanks for the 8K translation, I just looked it up too. I ran 4.25 miles today and I'm working on getting up to 5 .Congratulations on your fantastic loss. I can't wait to get weighed this week and see what I've lost because I'm feeling like I did pretty well. One more thing, fajitas is one of my "go to" meals when I go out to eat, they're really not that bad if you go heavy on the veggies and don't use too much cheese or sour cream. Maybe they weren't as bad as you thought. Keep up your hard work… I know you will!

  4. JW.BW September 29, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Awesome!! 23 pounds!! Thats fantastic. Sounds like you had a great day at the gym as well!!

Leave a Reply

