Reindeer Stampede

28 Nov


Today was the 11th Annual Reindeer Stampede for my high school’s cross country team boosters. I ran cross country one year in high school, so it felt pretty cool to be supporting the team. Plus, some of the old runners from my team came out. My coach remembered me and was there at the finish line cheering me on. I really hadn’t been training for this run because I haven’t been able to get out of bed before the sun rises, and it’s dark before I get home from work. And I despise the treadmill. But I did go out on Thursday morning for an interval training run, which felt really good! I had a goal of running the entire race, but after the 1.5 mile marker, I lost my steam. My hamstrings were tight, and I was getting a pain in my side from not breathing correctly. I still had a stuffy nose from being sick the week before, so I had to breathe out of my mouth the whole time. I finished the race strong at around 37:17. Definitely not one of my best times, but for walking parts of it, I think I did pretty well.

I’m going to be signing up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon soon, so I need to start training pretty bad for that.
2 Responses to “Reindeer Stampede”

  1. Devon November 28, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    If I can run a half, so can you! Just have faith… and dedication 🙂

  2. Caren November 28, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    Good for you! When is the Orlando race? I'm planning on doing the Broad Street Run in May which is 10 miles if you're interested. I know that's quite a way off but keep it in mind if you can! I love the treadmill, is that weird?

Leave a Reply

