In the Zone

30 Nov

Today is supposed to be my first day of my “nitty gritty”, get-down-to-business half-marathon training. I set my alarm for 5:45, and at 4am, I woke up and turned it off. Why do I self-sabotage?

But anyways, I was telling my new friend Daniel about my lack of motivation today, and he said “well, that’s because you’re not in the zone yet.” And he’s absolutely right. Every time I need to accomplish a goal, I imagine myself doing it, and that’s something I haven’t done in regards to this half-marathon. I still haven’t signed up for it, and I know I need to to get me the extra lift I need. But I need to start envisioning myself running it and crossing that finish line. I need to envision that finisher’s medal hanging in my office.
As I was wasting time on Facebook today, I came across a post by Jenn Widder, a Biggest Loser contestant from a few seasons ago. She’s looking for someone to run the NYC Half Marathon with her at her pace, which is 12:15. I offered to be her partner. How cool would that be to run a half mary with a “celebrity”?!
To answer Caren’s question yesterday, the Disney Princess Half Marathon is March 5-7. I’ll probably be going down a few days ahead of time and spend 1 or 2 extra days after the race just to enjoy Disney. If you want to run it with me, let me know. I might be staying with a friend down there, but if you want to share a room, I’m up for that. Just gotta wait for some more money since I spent most of mine on Black Friday. Oops! And I’d love to run that race with you that you mentioned. Just message me on FB with the info.
2 Responses to “In the Zone”

  1. from5ktomarathon November 30, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    I can totally relate to this post because I've been "half-assing" it for about two weeks with my half marathon training for 26.2 with Donna the month before the Princess. Tonight something just "clicked" and now I'm back in the groove – or at least I feel that way right now.I'm def. in for running the Princess but will probably wait a few more weeks before I register because we just bought the camera. I'd love to try and get together sometime while you're in Orlando since Carl and I will be there for a few days too :)YOU CAN DO IT!

  2. SassyCassie December 1, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    It would be awesome if she picks you! I hope you get the motivation soon-you can totally do this!

Leave a Reply

