Second Week of Training Begins

7 Dec

My first week of half marathon training went extremely well. I felt good after every run. I felt light on my feet and never winded. Last week was 5 intervals of 8 minute runs with a 1 minute walk break in between. This week is 6 intervals of 9 minute runs with a 1 minute walk in between. I’ll be running on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I leave for a Disney World vacation on Saturday, and I need to make myself a promise that I’ll be up early to run.

I did something this weekend, and I’m so proud I did it… I entered the lottery for the NYC Half Marathon! I printed out my entry number and started to cry. What an

emotional process this is going to be for me! The only thing I’m worried about is the time limit. Every runner is to finish within 3 hours. I’m sure I can do this as long as I don’t take any extended walk breaks. But it will motivate me to work on my speed, that’s for sure! A few friends have already said they’re going to be at the race cheering me on, which is so exciting for me that so many people are supporting me throughout this journey!

One Response to “Second Week of Training Begins”

  1. SassyCassie December 8, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    Wow that's awesome! You are kicking butt!

Leave a Reply

