Disney World Vacation Recap

27 Dec

We left Delaware last Saturday at 3:30am and made it to Jacksonville, FL that evening around 5pm. I did fairly well calorie-wise on the way down. I tried to eat the healthy snacks I brought with me, but I did indulge in a Whopper Junior (sans the mayo). We went to Cracker Barrel that evening, and I got the grilled chicken salad. Yum!

On Sunday, we made it over to Disney World by 11am, checked in at All Star Sports, and headed out to Magic Kingdom by noon. We started out with the Jungle Cruise and Pirates of the Caribbean. Then, my Disney calorie overload began with a taco salad in a taco shell. It was amazing, but I can only imagine how bad it was for me. We did a few more rides and went back to the hotel to change clothes, get settled, and get some dinner at the food court. I had the chicken quesadillas, which weren’t too bad. After that, we headed on over to Hollywood Studios to see the Osbourne Family Spectacle of Dancing Lights.

On Monday, we tackled Animal Kingdom in the morning. My parents and I did the safari and then caught up with Brynn and Richard later. We did Expedition Everest twice and had some lunch at Restaurantasaurus. Later that evening, we had dinner at Cape May Cafe at the Beach Club. It’s a clam bake buffet, and they’ve recently added crab legs to the menu. Thank goodness for that because I normally overeat at Cape May, so having a time-consuming, low-carb option was great! We walked over to Epcot after dinner to watch the fireworks.

On Tuesday, we headed on over to Port Orleans Riverside to grab breakfast at their food court and took the boat over to Downtown Disney to do some shopping. I got a few Christmas presents for my 8-year-old nephew. We caught lunch at noon at Rainforest Cafe, and I got my all-time fave, chicken quesadillas and a delicious strawberry-banana smoothie. That evening, we went to Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party at Magic Kingdom, which was really crowded. By this point, I had grown very tired of Disney’s fast food, which led to a very cranky Andrea. The crowds and seas of strollers made me even more grumpy.


On Wednesday morning, we had a late breakfast at 1900 Park Fare at the Grand Floridian. We took some pictures in front of the tree first.

I used to work at Park Fare, so it was nice to see some familiar faces! Breakfast was a delicious buffet, and we got to spend the morning with some real characters!

After breakfast, we caught the monorail and headed over to Epcot to ride some rides and see some of the country’s Christmas decorations. I heard from Brandy this afternoon, and we made plans to meet up at Downtown Disney for dinner at House of Blues. We both had a delicious pasta dish. It was wonderful catching up with her! After dinner, we drove on over to the Mall at Millenia to browse some stores. As always, we got a picture taken…

Thursday was our last day in the parks, and by this time, I was extremely ready to go home. My parents and I had breakfast at the food court and decided to go to Saratoga Springs resort instead of going to a park for the morning. We had never checked it out, so it was nice to do something different. While there, my mom went on a tour of the Disney Vacation Club Preview Center. I’ve always been interested in purchasing a membership, and it will be a few years before I do, but the tour was very interesting.We all had lunch in the Magic Kingdom at noon at Tony’s Town Square. A few of my friends work there still. I was so excited to catch up with Bethany. We’re both running the Princess Half Marathon in March.

We didn’t stay too long in Magic Kingdom before we headed over to Hollywood Studios to go on Rockin’ Rollercoaster and check out the new American Idol attraction. On the way back to the hotel, I checked Facebook for some friends’ status updates and saw everyone at home was excited about the snowstorm coming. We all agreed we were ready to go home, so we decided to leave early on

Friday morning.We left at 7:15am and were making good time until we hit Richmond, Virginia. It had started to snow, and everyone decided to go 20 mph. If we had gone a little faster, we could have beat the storm home, but we ended up getting stuck in several back-ups. Tractor trailers were getting stuck on on-ramps and were jack-knifing, causing major delays. At one point, we were stuck in the same spot for 3 hours near DC. We were hoping to get home that night by 11pm, but instead, we finally arrived at 10am the next day. My town only got a few inches because I’m so close to the ocean, but the town I work in got over a foot, and my brother’s town got 18 inches. My dad says we’re working tomorrow, so thank goodness for my Jeep.

As you can probably tell, I didn’t get in any running. Fail! After walking all day in the parks, I just couldn’t get my body up and out of bed to go running. But I did end up losing about 3 pounds while on vacation!

7 Responses to “Disney World Vacation Recap”

  1. Caren December 27, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Sounds like a really fun trip! We are DVC members and we always stay at SS. It's really nice there. Did you happen to see the models of the new resort at The Contemporary or Animal Kingdom? They're REALLY nice!

  2. skinnysweetpea December 27, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    You're DVC members?! I'm so jealous! Yeah, we saw the sample rooms of Bay Lake and AKL. They're beautiful! I think I'd prefer to buy at SS or Boardwalk. I'd have to buy a resale at Boardwalk, but I see my (future) family staying there more.

  3. Devon December 27, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I'm glad you had a good trip! And Jax, Fla is my neck of the woods ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. marathonmaiden March 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    what a great trip! and no worries about the lack of running but walking around the parks totally is hard work.

    • runeatdatesleep March 27, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Whenever I edit an old post, it shows up in my new posts in Google Reader.. weird.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Two « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 10, 2010

    […] at T-Rex at Downtown Disney. Brandy and I had dinner at House of Blues when I was in Orlando in December, and we were both craving their pasta again. And since I needed to “carb up”, we […]

  2. Day One of Orlando Trip « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 27, 2010

    […] 27, 2010 by runeatdatesleep When my family took our Christmas vacation to Disney World a few months ago, my father had the great idea of me opening my own mortgage company in Florida. I couldn’t […]

Leave a Reply

