Week 3 of Half Marathon Training

31 Dec
It was a good week in training for the half-marathon. This week’s goal was to run 5 intervals of 10 minutes each with a 1 minute walk break. It’s been too cold to run outside (for me anyway), so I decided to run on the treadmill this week instead. That thing and I just don’t get along. After the third interval on Monday, I wanted to throw up everywhere. So, I slowed to a walk many times, but I still banged out 4.3 miles in 54 minutes. It got much better on Wednesday, and I didn’t walk at all besides my scheduled walk breaks. I did 4.48 miles in 54 minutes. I’m going to try and get in a longer run on Saturday of maybe 6 or 7 miles with longer walk breaks just to see if I can do it.
I’ve done extremely well this week with calories and food tracking. I’ve lost about 5.4 pounds since December 9th. Pretty good! I’m back in my size 10s and back in the 170s! I thought I’d never see them again.
I’m trying not to make any resolutions this year as I always fail at following through. But I hope this is the year I’m finally at my goal weight, and I’ll get there by training for this half-marathon. And maybe I’ll be training for a full marathon by the end of the year!
Happy New Year to all of you!
One Response to “Week 3 of Half Marathon Training”

  1. Tiffany December 31, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Keep up the good work. The treadmill and I do not get along as well – I can easily run twice as far outside as I can on the treadmill. I have no idea how some people can do hours on the treadmill – not me, 20 minutes is painfull enough. Give me a cold day and a road or a trail over the treadmill any time (as I say that I have not been running as much because it is too cold outside – instead I have been swimming and doing a Jillian Michaels shred program.)

Leave a Reply

