Happy New Year! Happy New Me!

1 Jan

I’m not a fan of resolutions, but I’m vowing to blog every day on here for at least 3 months. I’m also going to track calories, fitness, and weight in a calendar every day for the next 3 months (completely inspired by Skinny Me Coming Soon).
I slept in until 11am and was woken up by a few text messages. Since I had a goal of running 6 miles today, I threw my running clothes in the dryer and grabbed some oatmeal to carb up. I was completely excited for my run today because I could do it at my favorite trail, Breakwater. During the week, I just can’t get out there during the day. I hope to get out there every Saturday to do my long run of the week.
Me before my run


I didn’t worry about doing a certain amount of intervals today. I just wanted to bang out 6 miles by doing 10-minute intervals with 1 minute walk breaks in between. Surprisingly, I finished it in 1 hour, 9 minutes, and 46 seconds, an 11:37 pace. I was excited about pace being under 12 minutes. It was about 41 degrees, but I could have used some gloves. I keep hearing about compression pants… I normally don’t like to wear pants during my runs, but are they light weight enough? Will they keep me warm? It rained pretty hard last night, so I was expecting some puddles on the trail, but this was ridiculous. This part of the trail was the beginning and ending of my run, so I ran the whole way with water-logged shoes. My toes were freezing!
The trail was a bit wet

So, week 3 of training is complete. Next week is 6 intervals of 10 minutes each, and I hope to do 7 miles next Saturday at the trail. I need to stock up on some Gu Energy packs for the longer runs… any recommendations on flavors?
I’m finally registering for the Disney Princess Half Marathon tomorrow. I was expecting extra money to be here today, but since it’s a holiday, I have to wait until tomorrow for it to hit my bank account.
I’m so excited for this year! Many of my friends have dubbed it “my” year, and I sure hope they’re right!
One Response to “Happy New Year! Happy New Me!”

  1. Cassie January 1, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Happy New Year! I look forward to reading all your posts for the next three months!

Leave a Reply

