Feeling Beaten Down

5 Jan
I woke up this morning with pains I never knew I could have in muscles I didn’t even know were on my body. I LOVE this feeling! My core felt strong, so I knew I’d have a good run tonight. It was a tough decision between running outside or running on the treadmill, but I chose the treadmill, and I didn’t hate it so much this time.

The plan was to do 6 intervals of 10 minutes each with 1 minute walks in between. I took half the

Gu (my first time using it) after the third interval and the other half after the fourth. I feel like it really helped a lot. I made it through all 6 intervals without having to stop besides the scheduled stops, and I didn’t feel dizzy at all. I was scared to try the Gu because so many people said they didn’t like the texture, and it can cause a tummy ache. But I thought it tasted like chocolate fudge, and no upset stomach for me!

I finished 5.35 miles in 66 minutes, a 12:20 pace. I think I’m just slower on the treadmill. I’m working harder, but I’m definitely slower.

So, to get to the point of the title of this post, I really had a breakdown last night. I’m seriously getting to the point of being burnt out. I’m exhausted, and I’m just tired of running. My feet are covered in blisters. I have headaches almost every night, and I can’t get enough sleep. But it will be good for me to incorporate yoga to spice things up.

Tomorrow is another weigh-in with my doctor. Hoping for a really good loss, maybe 5-6 pounds, which would be awesome considering there was Christmas and a Disney vacation in the past 4 weeks.

Oh, and by the way, love love love this season of Biggest Loser! What a great group of people!
2 Responses to “Feeling Beaten Down”

  1. Tiffany January 6, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Maybe it is time for a little break (just one or two days off – I know you are training for a half marathon) or just add a bike ride or a swim instead of a run one day.

  2. Cassie January 6, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    I'm sorry you're feeling burnt out. I agree with the previous comment that maybe you should take a couple of days off. After that try running someplace different. The change of scenergy might help motivate you again…

Leave a Reply

