13.1 Miles Through New York City!

6 Jan

Today was the big day that New York Road Runners would announce the lottery “winners” for the NYC Half Marathon. I’ve been checking my email all day… nothing. But when I just checked my bank account, they’ve taken the money out for the registration, which they said they would do if you make the lottery. So…. I’m in!!!!!!!!! I’ll be running 13.1 miles through the streets of New York City on March 21st, just 2 weeks after the Disney Princess Half. I know this probably isn’t enough time to recover, but I’m at least going to try. I’m so excited!

So after posting the “Feeling Beaten Down” post, I knew exactly what was coming next. I woke up this morning throwing up and had to call off work. Blah! Then I started getting massive leg cramps. I just couldn’t get enough liquid in to rehydrate myself. But good news is I’m feeling a lot better now. I’m still weak and crampy, but I’m not getting sick anymore. But I found one of the worst things about being single… no one is here to go to the store for things you need/want. I just had to truck myself out to Wawa in my jammies for some food.
I really need to take a step back and really take a rest day between each run. And I need to rehydrate a little better after hot yoga. This whole thing is a learning process, and I have to trust myself that I’ll figure this all out.
5 Responses to “13.1 Miles Through New York City!”

  1. Amanda, another priorfatgirl January 7, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    yay for making it into the half marathon!!! it's good to hear you're feeling better. keep hydrating and you'll be A1 in no time 🙂

  2. Zoë January 7, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    Congrats!!! So exciting! NYC!

  3. Cassie January 7, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I'm glad you're feeling better! Congrats on making it into the half!

  4. Tiffany January 7, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Oh my goodness – It took me a second reading your blog entry because I was thinking about the NYC Marathon and I was getting ready to go check my bank account but then I re-read your email. Good luck and have fun!!!

  5. Jules January 8, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I'm glad you put your blog page on FB because I sat and read it all that night you put it on! You inspired me to write a blog, and my best friend asked me to run in a half marathon in May up in Wilmington that I am pretty certain I am going to do! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

