Seven Miles in the Snow

9 Jan

Today was my day for a long run. This time it was 7 miles at my favorite trail, Breakwater. I was really hoping the snow would have melted but boy, I was wrong. Most of the trail looked like this.. but some of it was dry, and some of it was patches of ice.

I learned my lesson from last time and bundled up with long pants, long sleeve Techwik shirt, a hooded long sleeve shirt, mittens, and a fleece ear warmer. By mile 2, I was taking off my hooded shirt. By mile 3, the ear warmer came off. By mile 3.5, an upset stomach had me walking more than I wanted to. Thankfully, I just breathed deeply, closed my eyes a bit, walked a bit, and it soon went away. I brought the Pomegranate Luna Moons I bought last week at the running store and had 3 at mile 4 and 3 more at mile 5.

I really liked the taste, but it was such a pain getting them unstuck from my teeth. The last mile was pretty brutal- I could hardly feel my legs at this point, and I felt heavy and weighed down with mittens and ear warmer stuffed into the side of my shorts.

I ended my 7 miles at 1 hour, 24 minutes, an 11:58 pace. It was slower than I wanted, but the snow was tough to run in, my stomach was upset, and I was fidgetting with clothes for a bit. I’m really hoping it warms up soon!

Oh, I’ve been forgetting to share this. I’m a visual person, so I decided I needed to add some motivation to my bathroom mirror πŸ™‚
And now butt is planted on my brand new sectional while I watch some good Lifetime movies πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Seven Miles in the Snow”

  1. from5ktomarathon January 9, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Great job and that is an AWESOME pace! Go you πŸ™‚

  2. krissycat7 January 10, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    I just started reading your blog and I must admit I havent gotten all the way through…but I'm wondering how did you get started with running? I'd like to start but honestly don't know if I could get to the end of my block without passing out. You are seriously inspiring me Andrea.

  3. skinnysweetpea January 10, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Hey Krissy! Honestly, I used to run in high school and took breaks from it here and there. I've never been good at it or very fast, but it's always been how I choose to work out when I've tried to lose weight. But I really got serious about running when I started the Couch to 5K program last spring. You can go at your own pace and repeat weeks of the program as many times as you need to until you're comfortable moving forward. I think the first week is 8 intervals of 60 second runs. If you think you can handle that, you can definitely become a runner! Thank you for reading my blog πŸ™‚

  4. Cassie January 11, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Wow! I'm not sure I could have run in the cold and ice-way too go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Glorious Weekend « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - August 21, 2010

    […] Trail was my refuge. I trained for my two half-marathons on this trail, even though it was covered in snow most of the time. Today was a beautiful, hot day at the […]

Leave a Reply

