Blog World vs. Real World

11 Jan

Have you noticed that all of the women (and men) who blog about running, weight loss, and fitness are generally more happy than people you encounter in “real life”? I spend a lot of time reading these blogs because we’re all like-minded people with positive attitudes. But I just realized today that the “real world” is so gloom and doom, and I’ve started to notice my “fitness friends” are getting negative comments on Facebook from their “non-fitness friends”. For example, I have a friend who posts every day about their exercise and how many calories he burned, and I saw one of his friends say “oh, go eat a cupcake”. So my friend said he wouldn’t post anymore about his exercise. Isn’t that awful? Why do the “lazy” people in our lives have to put us down for trying to better ourselves and for having positive attitudes? I know it’s simply jealousy, but we shouldn’t even give those people a second look. Luckily, none of my Facebook friends have been so rude. I feel so blessed to have such supportive friends. I’ve heard from quite a few friends I had lost touch with, and they’ve told me I’m inspirational, and I’ve motivated them to start running.

Before I really got serious about running, I was miserable. I got cranky very easy, and I just wasn’t someone I’d want to be around. So now when I encounter someone with a bad attitide, I almost feel like saying “oh, just go for a jog!” I wish everyone had some bright, positive outlooks as we all do. The world would be a better place!

With that said, tonight was another night of Hot Yoga. For some reason, I got a bit more dizzy than last time. But I took a few breaks and felt fine after. I’m rehydrating now with G2. I ate WAY TOO MUCH for dinner, but I was craving everything in my fridge!
I’m trying to meet one of my goals this week and be in bed by 11pm. Namaste!

3 Responses to “Blog World vs. Real World”

  1. Caren January 12, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I agree. I don't know why people have to be that way but my recent "frenemy" episode is very similar and I think related to me losing weight. It's a shame your friend is going to let a silly comment like "go eat a cupcake" bother him. Some people just have to do crap to make others feel bad, those people suck. I am glad you went to hot yoga. I totally want to try that out sometime which I know I've said before. I accidentally pulled all the skin off my blister tonight when I tried to remove one of those blister band-aids. It's really hurting me now and I don't now when I am going to be able to run again. I am not a happy girl! I was planning on taking off tomorrow anyway so hopefully it will be "runable" by Wednesday afternoon.

  2. Zoë January 12, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    You totally took the words from my mouth. "oh, just go for a jog!" —> love it! I'm sure they'd love it too if they tried.Hot yoga sounds like a really amazing experience…I must try it. G'night!

  3. Amanda, another priorfatgirl January 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    i LOVE the contagious happiness of running. maybe it's a midwestern thing, but when i run outside other runners (and some walkers) smile or nod at eachother like, "hey! keep up the good work! we're in this together!" can't wait til i can run outside again …

Leave a Reply

