Retail Therapy for Runners

16 Jan

Since I didn’t get my 5-miler in yesterday, I tackled it today. It was much warmer than it has been… in the high 40s. I felt great throughout the whole run except I was accompanied with a raging headache, which I still have 8 hours later. Everytime I felt like I was looking labored, I did a little bit of self-talk and said to myself “stop making this look hard.” I don’t want spectators at the race seeing me in pain at mile 3. That would embarrass me. I did about 4.85 miles in 53 minutes, a 10:55 pace, which is a tad bit faster than I have been running.

My neighborhood has a 5k marked, so I timed my miles:
Mile 1- 10:51
Mile 2- 11:14
Mile 3- 11:21
Mile 0.1- 1:08
Total- 34:34

Later in the afternoon, I stopped over at the running store to stock up on Gu and checked out some other items. The man in the store was incredibly helpful with training tips, and he told me it seems that I’m doing all the right things. Yay!
My goodies! A Nathan water bottle belt, BodyGlide, and 2 headbands!

How CUTE are these headbands!

I’m super excited about the fuel belt. I tried it on, and it fits perfectly in the small of my back, and I don’t think I’ll really be able to tell it’s back there. And it has an awesome pouch for car keys, C hapstick, Gu, etc.Next was a car wash and a stop at Marshall’s. I wanted to find a cute journal/notebook because I’m often thinking of ideas for the blog or work or just something I need from the store, and I always use random pieces of paper. So I thought I’d get something cute, and I can take it with me everywhere. So I bought a cute journal and these 2 cute plates…

I love how Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point has a bunch of mismatched plates, so I thought I’d start my own collection. Yes, I know I’m a huge copycat.

I came home and made a delicious dinner of a Boca Mushroom Mozzarella veggie burger on a whole grain English muffin with a slice of 2% American cheese. I made some vegetarian baked beans as a side dish. Note- I really should start taking pictures of my meals.

I’m hoping my legs feel well-rested for a long run tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Retail Therapy for Runners”

  1. from5ktomarathon January 17, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Great job on the run! That's awesome that you were able to shave 1 min.+ off each of your mile times! You're getting fast quick!

  2. runsleeprinserepeat January 17, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Cute plate! You've gotten sooo fast 🙂

  3. debbiejackson January 19, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    staples on my list are coffee and milk jacksond@nhr3.net

  4. debbiejackson January 19, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    I follow

  5. Cassie January 22, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Those headbands are adorable!

Leave a Reply

