Longest Run EVERRRRRR

18 Jan

Judging by how well I felt on my 5-miler on Saturday, I decided to switch things up today during my long run of 8 miles. On Sunday, I really didn’t want to do the walking breaks. I felt like I could have kept on going and felt fine. So I ran the first 3.1 miles today straight through with no breaks, and I did it in 34:56, and 11:16 pace. I’m really looking forward to running in some 5Ks this summer to see how well I can do. I don’t go as fast as I would normally run 3 miles knowing that I have 5 more left to go.

Today’s run was my first with the water belt and the BodyGlide. My first mile was a little slower because I was fidgeting with the belt. It kept riding up, so I had to make it really tight around my hips. I loved knowing that I had the belt with me, and I could hydrate and Gu up when I needed to. I used the Gu prior to the run, and I think it helped a bunch! And then I used it right after the 3.1. After the first 3.1, I did more normal 10 minute intervals with 1 minute walk breaks. I focused on maintaining the same stride and did a lot of self talk. Telling myself things like “pain is temporary, pride is forever” and “run strong” help a ton.

I finished 8 miles in 1:32:18, an 11:32 pace. Woohoo! I’m so dang proud of myself! And considering I got a grand total of 1 hour of sleep last night, I feel amazing.

I’m definitely feeling a ton of aches and pains in places I’ve never felt soreness… like my boobs and my neck. Blah! But good news is… I haven’t had any blisters in a while.

Ooooh, and before I forget, I was the lowest weight I’ve been since I was in high school this morning!!! And I’ve been doing a vegetarian diet for 5 days, and I already feel a difference… kinda like I don’t feel so bloated.

And before you go, check out my giveaway I posted yesterday if you have not done so already =) I’m so excited a bunch of lurkers have delurked to enter the giveaway. I’m excited to read all of your blogs now!

Time for me to hit the hay!

5 Responses to “Longest Run EVERRRRRR”

  1. Caren January 19, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Congratulations on your accomplishment! I haven't gone that far yet but it should happen soon, depending on my plan. I don't drink water or use anything like Gu when I run, at what mileage point does one have to use that? I always have water but if I drink it, I get cramps so I usually wait until I am finished!

  2. eggplantexecutrix January 19, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Many congratulations on your longest run ever! I remember training for my first race; it was so neat to get a distance PR every time I did a long run.To the above poster, I only used a gel (Clif brand) the day I ran my marathon. On a couple of training runs (like 17-18 milers), I'd eat a Clif shot blok. I personally don't need anything until I get a bit past 15 miles, but everyone's different.

  3. marathonmaiden January 19, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    great job on the run! isn't pushing yourself so much fun?! well maybe not during but after for sure πŸ™‚

  4. Jules January 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Great job! THat is sooo exciting on your weight and your run! Just think…last week you were struggling with inspiration, and now you banged out that amazing run. You are close to the 13.1 πŸ™‚ I can't drink water during my runs either because I get cramps. I hate that! Keep up the good work! Take a light day today πŸ˜‰

  5. Cassie January 26, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Congrats on the long run-that's awesome!

Leave a Reply

