They Sell a Patch for Weight Loss???

19 Jan

Today’s my rest day in between runs. I woke up feeling really achy… I obviously didn’t stretch enough last night after the 8-miler.

Lunch today was a luncheon with a group of realtors. I was thinking that the restaurant would have a menu we could choose from, but they did a buffet for our group. Not one of the main dishes was vegetarian. For the new readers, I’ve chosen a vegetarian diet, and I’ve felt great the past 5 days with no meat. I chose a stuffed pepper stuffed with ground beef and a small portion of seafood salad. I was pretty upset that there were no options for me other than cole slaw and baked apples. I couldn’t make lunch out of that. Now that I think about it, I should have asked the servers if I could order something else. Within 15 minutes, my stomach was upset and it has been ever since. I guess it’s clear my body doesn’t like animal protein.

But I got a lot of “hello skinny” and “you look great” comments at lunch! I felt pretty!

So onto the main reason for my post…

Did you know they make a patch for weight loss now? A few of my friends on Facebook have started selling it, and I’m just shocked. And before I go further, my doctor prescribed me medicine to help with my weight loss, but this was after tests and it’s prescribed by a doctor, and I was closely monitored while on the meds. I’m not on them anymore. But there are regular Joe Schmoes out there selling a patch for weight loss. I’m always getting asked what the “secret” is to weight loss.. there’s no secret. It’s a math equation. Calories in, calories out. People always want the easy way out. Put the hard work in and you’ll see results! So in case you want to check it out and laugh, here’s the link. I really enjoy reading all of the rip off reports. You really have to wonder how fast the weight will come back once they’re off the patch.

I just find it utterly ridiculous. Not only is it a weird way to lose weight, but people are selling it like Amway!

Ok, stepping off my soap box.

3 Responses to “They Sell a Patch for Weight Loss???”

  1. Caren January 20, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Well, now you've made room on that soap box for me. ha ha! You know I completely agree with you and as a nutritionist, I totally agree that there is no "secret" to weight loss. Eating healthy and moving more, that's all there is to it. Duh. I don't know why people don't realize that by now. IF that patch works, and that's a big IF, it won't be a "forever" weight loss, which is the case with just about every plan or pill out there. I am not and never will be a vegetarian but it does sound to me like a good answer for you with your animal protein symptoms. I recently tried the Morningstar Farms Chik'n Patties (140 calories) because my son is such a picky eater and traditional chicken nuggets (purdue) which he loves are so bad for him. They are really good. I also got the breakfast sausage links since the "chicken" patties were good, I'll let you know what I think of those too. Keep up your hard work girl, you're doing so great!

  2. eggplantexecutrix January 20, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Good luck with your decision on going veg. I recently turned my eating into vegan and have already noticed a lot of physical benefits. But I think it's also important to be kind to yourself in realizing that the transition takes some research! As to the weight loss patch… definitely not in line with how I think. 😉

  3. marathonmaiden January 20, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    good luck with going veg! it's really tough when there are no veg options at an event. i know a lot of the vegetarians at my school complain because they can't eat a lot of what gets served. major bummer for sure.

Leave a Reply

