Broke My 5K PR!

20 Jan

I spent my whole ride home from work tonight telling myself I didn’t want to run. But as soon as I walked in the door, I grabbed a Gu, threw on my running clothes, stretched, and headed out the door. No excuses for laziness in this house! By the way, the Expresso Love Gu almost made me gag. I think I’ll stick to the Chocolate Outrage.

The plan tonight was to work on my speed on a 5K. I felt good almost the whole time. I think the Gu hit me around the 1st mile marker, but I talked myself through it. I told myself the upset tummy will pass, and it eventually did. Here’s my time splits:

Mile 1- 10:28
Mile 2-10:52 (me running slower to get over the upset stomach)
Mile 3- 10:48
Mile 0.1- 1:02
Total- 33:11

That’s 33 seconds faster than my previous PR from last Fourth of July at the Beachpaper 5K!!! I realized this a few seconds after my run and immediately started crying. I’m so dang proud of how far I’ve come.

9 Responses to “Broke My 5K PR!”

  1. Zoë January 21, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    AWESOME JOB!! Congrats on a new PR! 🙂

  2. Amanda, another priorfatgirl January 21, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    atta girl!!!!!!! way to power through from (before) start to finish 🙂

  3. from5ktomarathon January 21, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    Great job!

  4. marathonmaiden January 21, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    wicked amazing 🙂

  5. Darcie January 21, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Good for you! Making a new PR is a great feeling!My stomach can't handle Gu, no matter what the situation. I found that a few skittles work as well for me, especially since I can space them out an eat like 3 a mile. I think the energy push is more controlled that way and not so up and down.

  6. Caren January 21, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Congratulations! As usual, we are SO similar in times… I hope you don't get too much faster than me since your half marathon is so much sooner than my ten-miler and since you're like 15 years younger than I am! ha ha!

  7. eggplantexecutrix January 21, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    Congratulations! Running brings one breakthrough after another.

  8. Kelly January 22, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    Ah! way to go! Nice Job!

  9. findingtimeat33 March 19, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    wow, I can’t wait to read your whole blog!! I’m doing the same… I’m going to swim across lake ontario in 2011, but I’m doing my first marathon this summer… so much fun preparing eh??

    I can totally relate to the excitement of finishing 5K!! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

