Saturday’s Long Run- 9 Miles

23 Jan

First, let me apologize for skipping yesterday’s post. I have successfully broken my New Year’s resolution of blogging every day for 3 months. Ugh! But before you throw stones, it was for good reason. This girl had a date!

So onto the topic at hand… I started my day off at the Rehoboth Beach Running Company to pick up a crap ton of Gu in the Chocolate Outrage flavor. I got more helpful tips from Bob who works there, and he even got one from me! He didn’t know about mapmyrun.com so I shared the link with him. We talked about the Garmin Forerunner as well. I had been thinking I would get the Garmin 305 as my reward for running two half-marathons in March, but I think I want to run the races with the Garmin. So depending on how much money I have, I’ll be purchasing the Garmin prior to the Disney race.

I got home from the store, grabbed a Gu, threw on my running clothes, and stretched. But… the Gu hit me after stretching and I just couldn’t leave the house for a while. I know, TMI. I really don’t know what to do about this though. I love the Gu because I know it makes a difference in my pace, but it always upsets my stomach no matter how much water I drink with it.

But anyways, I set out on my run and immediately felt my legs getting tight. I felt really slow throughout the first mile. My ankle was hurting, and my hamstrings were tight. But when I got to the first mile marker, I looked at my iPhone and saw I ran the first mile at 10:18, faster than I ever have before. Weird! So, I started doing 10-minute intervals with 1-minute walk breaks for the whole 9 miles. I Gu’d up at 3 miles and 6.5 miles. I just felt labored the whole time. My ankle felt better, but then my knee was acting up around mile 5. When I got to the 8 mile mark, I looked at my clock and saw I was at 1:27:45. My 8 mile time on Monday was 1:32:18. How in the world did I take 4 and a half minutes off my time?! Geez!

My 9-mile time today was 1:40:20, an 11:08 pace. Yay!!! And that brings my total miles for the week to 20! Wow! I never thought I’d be running 20 miles a week.

Don’t forget about my giveaway!! It ends tomorrow.

Now I’m back to relaxing on the couch with Amy’s Kitchen pizza for dinner and then poker later at a friend’s house. Fun!!!

Ooooh, and check out JewliaGoulia’s giveaway! It’s pretty amazing!

5 Responses to “Saturday’s Long Run- 9 Miles”

  1. from5ktomarathon January 23, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    I'm so proud of you for getting out there and doing nine miles! Isn't it the best feeling, knowing how far you've come? :)If gels don't work for you I'd suggest doing GU chomps or sport beans instead. Those are easier on the stomach AND a bonus is that you can take them a few at a time through out your run instead of all at once like the gels. I guess you could also do the gels half at a time but I don't know how you could keep them from getting everywhere unless you pack them in a little baggie.Re: the Garmin – it's such a help and totally worth it, although if your iPhone has time/distance/pace on it I'm not sure that it's really that different. I do have a question about your iPhone though – So when you're on your run do you just pull up your "map my run" map to see where to go or is your trail marked? I need new shoes, too!

  2. marathonmaiden January 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    bummer about the gu. but still a great run.

  3. lindybug January 23, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Love the Garmin! You definitely want it for the races, and preferably in your training too!As for the Gu situation, have you tried other brands? Maybe Clif Shots? Or Sport Beans? Also, maybe it was hard for you because you started off too fast? Usually for the longer runs, I try to go s-l-o-w. Especially the first few miles.You are doing great!

  4. eggplantexecutrix January 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I second the Clif shot bloks. It bugs me that they don't spell them "blocks," but I thnk they work well. I HATE gels. Great work today! And again, yeah, start out slowly. 🙂

  5. eattolivelivetorun January 24, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Thats an awesome run! Now I'm jealous because I'm suppose to run a 9-miler today and I'm gonna have to take a rest day instead because of shin pain. I ran a 5K yesterday with the shin pain (and PR'd!) but now I'm almost limping! 😦

Leave a Reply

