You Know You’ve Changed When…

26 Jan
  • Your friends invite you out to a Mexican dinner, in which you used to LOVE, and you decline because you are craving the organic pizza in your freezer.
  • You’re dead tired but get in your scheduled run because you know you need to.
  • You can’t find a dang thing to eat in the convenience store and almost gag thinking about eating anything fried and in a bag.
  • You tell everyone you know that they need to become a runner because it will make them so happy!
  • You no longer care what the number is on the scale and only worry about your long weekend runs and if you’re able to complete them.
  • You no longer think about food as a means to an end but as a way to fuel your workouts.
  • You save your hard earned money for running gear and race registrations.

Yes, all of these things are what’s going on with me, and they’re the things that make me realize I’ve completely changed my outlook on my weight and who I am.

But one thing has not changed at all… when meeting a guy, I still think he’ll think I’m fat. I almost feel like I have to think like that because I can’t bear the thought that a guy doesn’t like me because of my personality. That would hurt worse than a guy thinking I’m fat.

Yeah, that’s me and my insecurity of the day.

Must go run and cheer myself up…

3 Responses to “You Know You’ve Changed When…”

  1. marathonmaiden January 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    i kept nodding my head for all those points! and i know what you mean about preferring to think negatively about appearance vs personality when it comes to guys. i totally have those insecurities too! but running = cure so get out there 🙂

  2. EricaH January 26, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Great list, so true. 🙂

  3. Amanda, another priorfatgirl January 26, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    i was totally smiling as i was reading that list because you nailed it! i still think guys are seeing me as the funny, fat girl. sometimes my friends need to clue me in, like, hey that dude was definitely hitting on you. we're silly creatures, aren't we?

Leave a Reply

