Tonight’s Run and a Sob Story

28 Jan

I hadn’t run since Saturday (I blame my lack of restraint when I get asked out on a date, which happened on Tuesday and Wednesday), so I was kinda dreading this run tonight because it had been too long. My plan was to run 6.2 miles with the first 3.1 at race pace and the second 3.1 at an easy pace.

My first 5k time splits:
Mile 1- 10:20
Mile 2- 10:40
Mile 3- 10:47
Mile 0.1-0:59
32:46- a 10:34 pace AND that’s 25 seconds off of my PR!

I haven’t run a 5k in the 32 minute range since high school!

Second 5k time splits:
Mile 1- 11:10
Mile 2- 11:53
Mile 3- 11:52
Mile 0.1- 1:12
36:13- 11:40 pace

My only complaint about the run is that my toes hurt from the get-go. I lost half a toenail a few weeks ago. While I was clipping my nails, I noticed it was barely hanging on. I could tell immediately at the start of this run that I’d end up with a bloody toe by the end, but that didn’t happen thank goodness. But in general, my toes are achy after almost every run. Is that weird? And I get cramps in them during my sleep.

So here’s what’s been bothering me:

First of all, if you haven’t noticed, I’m single. I’ve seen 3 guys in the past 6 days and none of them want a relationship with me. That’s fine. People just don’t click. But being 28, I’m starting to feel like it will never happen for me.

I’ve been really enjoying my half-marathon training, and I love doing it on my own. But, I just wish there was someone here to greet me when I come home. He would rub my legs while I tell him how about my run. He’d know the highs and the lows of the training. He’d comfort me while I break down and cry about being so exhausted. But… there’s no one.

So when I do find someone, this whole experience will just be a story I tell. I want someone to experience this all with me, and maybe one day someone will as I’m training for a different race. But this is my first real training experience, and I need and want someone with me.

Time for bed… I really must start getting to bed sooner than I have been. It’s been almost 2am before I’ve been falling asleep recently.

Oh, P.S. sorry my posts have been devoid of pictures recently. I need to remedy that soon!

4 Responses to “Tonight’s Run and a Sob Story”

  1. Zoë January 29, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    Oh toenails…have you tried wrapping your toes with some athletic tape?Awesome job on your 6.2 miles! A PR too? Woot!You will find someone very soon. Don't give up, but definitely don't let it consume your life. You are amazing, Andrea!

  2. marathonmaiden January 29, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    great run! a pr?! that's amazing!! i feel the same way with guys lately. but keep your head up, i truly believe that stuff happens when you least expect it so try to not obsess. i know, easier said than done

  3. anotherFATgirl January 29, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    my big toenail on my right foot has fallen of FIVE times! YIKES! haha, so I definately know the pains of half of it being there.. or it hanging off!GREAT job on lowering your PR! i watched definately, maybe last night and "you don't find love, love finds you" ❤ keep your head up!

  4. Enlightndone January 30, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    First, it has been really cool reading about your experiences on your blog. You are very inspiring and I wish you all the best with your marathon training….I'm sure you have heard this before…but it is really really true: you will find your person when you are not looking…in fact the more you move ahead with your own goals the more you will draw people to you. And, 28 is really young you have a lot ahead of you. I used to feel like that too. But I agree..the 30's are the new 20's worry at 38 🙂

Leave a Reply

