Day Two of Being Snowed In

7 Feb

Another day of cabin fevah… the whole neighborhood has been plowed… except my street! Not that I needed to go anywhere today, but I would at least like the option of leaving the house. Just got an email from my dad/boss saying we’re not expected to be at work tomorrow. Thank goodness I brought home our most pertinent files to work on just in case. And I have a bunch of marketing things to work on as well.

In my attempt to become a food bloggie, I took pictures of my meals today. And I gotta say, it helped me when it came time to track my calories at the end of the day. That said, I should log my calories all day long as I eat, but it never happens that way. Hey, at least it happens at all.

Breakfast- Large cup of coffee, clementine, and (unpictured) Puffins with skim milk

Lunch- Amy's Kitchen Pesto Tortellini

Snack- Peanut Butter!

Dinner- English Muffin with Boca Chickn Patty, chickpeas, and Cuzco

(I obviously need a better camera!)

I ended up mixing the chick peas with Cuzco to cool down the rice. It was an excellent combo! It was my first time making the Seeds of Change Cuzco.. it was delicious! It was the Whole Grain Quinoa Blend with Cilantro variety.

I spent a good portion of the day cleaning the house, cutting coupons, and folding laundry. Oh, and I even made my bed today… one of the things I have on my 101 in 1001 list. And I got my Netflix DVDs ready to mail out and included an Operation Beautiful post-it note in each envelope! (another item on my list)

I also listed my old “grandma” couch on Craigslist and put some items on eBay. Click to see my listings (some items are “adult” and they’re not that bad!). I’ll be adding some pants tomorrow in sizes 12 and 14. They’re too big for me now! Yay!

On the weight loss front, I saw a number on the scale this morning I’ve actually never seen. The last time I weighed 175.2, I was in high school and had one of these scales…

But I’m coming up with a lot of questions about my weight and the calories I consume. My weight loss doctor, who I have stopped seeing, put me on a diet of 1200 calories (1500 on a long run day). But I stopped seeing him last week, and I started adding a little more calories to my day. I’ve been eating around 1500-1700 per day for about a week, and I’ve seen the number of the scale creep down a little quicker now that I’ve been eating more. Now I know how the numbers work with calories, exercise, deficit, blah blah blah (eat more to boost your metabolism). I’m assuming my doctor had never helped a weight loss client who was also training for a half-marathon. Now, I’m not bashing him or anything. The man did help me start this journey, but I think here on out, I’m prepared to do this on my own. I’ve made tracking my calories a habit. And by blogging, I’ve made myself accountable to more people than just me.

So my question for you all is… how many calories do you consume each day? What’s your height, weight, and activity level? OK, you don’t have to tell me your height and weight if you don’t wanna πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Day Two of Being Snowed In”

  1. marathonmaiden February 7, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    my street at home is ALWAYS the last one plowed too. i think it’s because i live on a “private way” so the town thinks that it can plow us last. and not pave our streets. and it’s not even like i live in a ritzy neighborhood. oh well

    and i’m not quite sure how comfy i am posting height/weight and what not online but if you really want to know just email me πŸ™‚

  2. Caren February 8, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Good post! I love the Operation Beautiful thing.

    So, it was a long post and I might be forgetting something I wanted to say, ha ha but I do remember, I am 5 foot 8 and I weigh 166 pounds, I eat between 1800 and 2100 calories a day. I have a larger calorie allowance than most because I started out at 252 pounds. There are days that I go higher than the 2100 and still find that I lose weight but I eat very healthy mostly unprocessed foods. I want to get to about 152 pounds possibly a little lower, like 145.

    I’d be happy to help you figure out what your calorie range should be, no one on our program is ever at 1200, that seems really low IMO.

Leave a Reply

