Monday Mumbles

8 Feb

Good afternoon! I’m very happy to see that yesterday was a record-breaking day for my blog for views. Thank you all so much for reading and following along. Love you!!!

I slept in pretty late today, but I woke up to the sound of a plow… on my street! I got up, weighed myself, got a call from my mom, and straightened my hair. My mom was letting me that we have an appointment for March 5 at 3:30 to look at office space in Orlando! I’m so very excited!!! We also chatted about some work stuff, and she told me we probably won’t be open tomorrow either. And then we’re expected to get more snow on Tuesday night. So we may not have work on Wednesday either. While I love not working, I miss my routine… work, run, eat, date, sleep.. ya know?

So I made my way downstairs by noon, made some Starbucks, and opened my garage door to see that it’s going to be very easy to make my way out later today to stock up on some more groceries. I heard a nearby Wal-mart’s roof collapsed because there was too much snow on their flat roof. Crazy!

Remember my post when I asked you to “Ask Me Anything”? I got a few questions, so here’s the answers…

Q. What got you in to running?

A. Honestly, I’ve always liked to run. I started running in high school on the cross country team when I was a sophomore. I only lasted one year because I thought I wasn’t good enough. I was always in “last place” or close to last. Whenever I try to lose weight, I turn to running because I know it works. And now finally, I’m running not just for weight loss.

Q. What’s the best part of losing weight?

I’ve actually been thinking of an answer to this question for a few days, and I really can’t come up with one answer. Weight loss has given me a self-confidence I’ve never had, which has especially helped me in the dating arena. I used to refuse cuddling because I didn’t want a guy to feel my rolls. I now feel very confident laying next to a man. Another wonderful thing about losing weight is the compliments I’ve received from friends, family, and “strangers”. There’s been a couple of guys at the gym who have approached me and said “slimming down, aren’t ya?” I guess they’ve been watching me for a while. Kinda creepy, but so nice.

The two top things about losing weight:

  1. Being able to run faster. When you’re lighter, there’s less to move, right?
  2. Inspiring others! This is by far the best part of losing weight. I can’t tell you the number of emails I’ve gotten from friends saying that I’ve inspired them to start exercising, running, and/or eat better. And some of them have started blogs themselves. There are some people who are just acquaintances of mine on Facebook, and when I run into them “in real life”, they tell me “oh hey, I’ve been following you. Great job!” I didn’t even know they were reading along. I never in a million years thought I’d be considered an inspiration!

Even though no one asked, I do have a “worst part of losing weight”. I no longer fit into my clothes. My “skinny pants” are too loose, and I’m afraid I look like I’m wearing clown pants. I only have a few outfits I can wear to work without looking frumpy. And now my yoga pants are falling down at the gym. So I bet you’re wondering why this is bad. I’ll be honest. Money’s tight. Real tight. I do have a wonderful, well-paying job, but there have been a few things recently that have hurt my wallet pretty bad. I might be hitting up some thrift stores soon!

Feel free to follow this link to ask me more questions. They’re anonymous, so ask me anything!

Snowstorm Thought Of the Day– Why complain about digging out your car when you have a long driveway? Why not park the car at the end of the drive and just walk out in the snow to it? You’ll have less to shovel.. duh. Thinking outside the box here.

25 days until Disney World!

3 Responses to “Monday Mumbles”

  1. marathonmaiden February 8, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    jealous of your upcoming trip. i can fit in a suitcase. just sayin’ 🙂

    wait…i just re-read the post: are you moving there or visiting? pretty cool either way

    • runeatdatesleep February 8, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      Hehehe… I’m visiting in early March for the half-marathon and to scope out apartments and office space. And going back in late March for broker classes. I’m hoping to move down there by summertime.

  2. Zoë February 8, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Only 25 days??? How fun! So stoked for you!

Leave a Reply

