I just made myself cry…

16 Feb

I found this video on another blog (Princess Diaries), and it made me cry…

I simply cannot believe I’ll be running through Cinderella’s Castle in just 19 days!

OK, that’s all for now. Just thought I’d share. Gotta get back to my busy work day!!!

8 Responses to “I just made myself cry…”

  1. marathonmaiden February 16, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    awww i can tell you care about this so much! that’s amazing and i must say i’m jealous of you running through the castle πŸ™‚

    • runeatdatesleep February 16, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      You’re right. I care about this race so much. Besides the fact that it’s my first long race and I’ve put a lot of work in to the training, Disney holds a very special place in my heart. It was always my dream to work there ever since I was a little kid, and I ended up working there for a few years, and now I’m on my way back to try it again πŸ™‚ I’ve never truly felt like I’m “home” unless I’m in Disney World.

  2. Tracy February 16, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    I can’t see the movie for some reason, but I can tell what it’s about. πŸ™‚ Running through the castle is amazing… Be sure to take the time to look around and take it all in!

    • runeatdatesleep February 16, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Hmm.. I wonder why you can’t see it. I’m sure I’m going to have my iPhone out taking pictures and videos along the way.

  3. Cassie February 16, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    That was awesome! It actually kind made me want to run it, although I can’t even run a mile without stopping right now. I actually have a question for you…I get really bad shin splints which always keeps me from being able to run like I’d want to. I start the C25K and everytime I have to quit after the first week or so because of shin splints-any advice?

    • runeatdatesleep February 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

      The only time I’ve ever experienced shin splints was in high school. But this is usually the advice I give to people who experience shin splits.

      1. Don’t work through it. Rest until they don’t hurt anymore.
      2. Get fitted for the right shoes.
      3. Don’t tie your shoes too tight.
      4. Warm up properly before each run. Warm muscles are less likely to get injured than cold muscles. Are you walking for 5 minutes before your Couch to 5k runs?
      5. Are you taking rest days in between each run?
      6. Are you running on a treadmill or on pavement? My shins usually start to hurt if I run on the treadmill too long.

      This website (http://www.racewalk.com/Stretching/ShinStretches01.asp) has a good stretch illustrated on it that might help you once you get back to running. I usually do something like this before my runs.

      Hope that helps a bit πŸ™‚

  4. Christy February 25, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    OMG so touching!!! SO proud of you for making it this far and doing it!!! I sooo wish I was going with you like we had originally planned! Next year, next year!

Leave a Reply

