Realization

16 Feb

I really haven’t talked about my recent and past relationships on here, even though part of my blog title is “date”. But, here goes a little bit of it.

I dated Jeff for about 4 and a half years. We endured a 2-year long distance relationship and a 2-year somewhat long distance relationship before he moved to Colorado and I moved to Delaware. After spending a few months of him living in Colorado, we ended things. It was a long time coming, but I was severely heart broken. He was the man I was going to marry. I thought for sure he was “the one”. I spent every night for about a month in the fetal position in my shower as the water poured over me as I sobbed for hours no matter how cold the water had gotten. It’s been almost 2 years since our break-up, and we’ve actually developed quite the friendship. I just got off the phone with him, and it was one of the best calls I’ve had with him. We were hysterically laughing together over something really silly but would only be funny to us.

This made me realize that no matter how bad you ever think life is right now, it will get better. You’ll find something that will eventually make you smile. You won’t forget about what made life rough, but you’ll get through it. And it may take months or even years to realize it, but I’ve found that my rough spots are usually blessings. And in the case with Jeff, I often think about what would have been had we stayed together and I sometimes think that no one will ever measure up, but I know that our break-up was probably one of the best things to ever happen to me.

So with that said, I may need to come back to this post and re-read it often after I leave Delaware.

*******

On to other things, today was another really good day at work, despite the fact I put in a 10-hour day with no lunch break. Luckily, we’re really busy, which is reaaaalllly good for being a small town mortgage company right now. Don’t I look busy? Two computers and files everywhere!!!

Hard at work or hardly working? πŸ˜‰

I started the day off with a whole grain English muffin with PB Loco Dark Chocolate peanut butter… mmmm.

And I ended the day with chips, salsa, and guac! This Newman’s Own Peach Salsa is the most amazing salsa I’ve ever had. But the guac just wasn’t appealing to me. I usually get Wholly Guacamole, but the grocery store only had this stuff. It was missing something!

************

My mom was looking at plane tickets for me today to go down to Florida for my mortgage broker classes, and she said “we” like she was going, and I snapped back “we?” I told her I thought it was just going to be me. This whole moving thing is for me, but I shouldn’t have said I didn’t want her to come along. I feel bad now 😦  I’ll tell her tomorrow I want her to come along, but I still feel bad. Bad daughter! But I’m really looking forward to her coming along with me for the Disney Princess race. I’m hoping it made her feel good that I wanted her there to take care of me if I am injured, crying, and/or pooping/puking all over myself after the race. That’s what moms are for, right?

********

My friend, Julie, had some questions for you all. First, how do you get in the habit of taking pictures and uploading them to your blog every day? She’d like to spice up her blog with pictures, so give her some ideas! Also, if you have a blog yourself, which do you prefer- WordPress or Blogger? What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?

6 Responses to “Realization”

  1. John February 17, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    You looked swamped in your office. 3 years ago I had a blog on Blogger and I kind of wished I had just went there again because I knew how it worked. I think the last thing I got to figure out in WP is the picture thing. The only advantage I can think of is that in Blogger I could just upload to my blog. I’m not sure but I think with WP I have to send my pics to Flicker and link to them there from the blog?

    • runeatdatesleep February 17, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      Hmmm… I just upload from my computer right to WP.

      I never understood the picture thing on Blogger. If I put a picture in my blog, it would go to the top of my post and I’d have to reposition it to where I wanted it. Maybe I was doing something wrong.

  2. marathonmaiden February 17, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    10 hour day and no lunch break?! i’d die for sure. clearly you are working hard πŸ™‚

  3. Cassie February 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Your office is so cute! I love the red flowers!

  4. Jules February 17, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I was wondering of your interest in CO (you added something of FB about it). Now I see. Hubby and I want to live in CO! Oh and I like the wholly guac better also. THey had bogo free at safeway when I went last night so I stocked up πŸ™‚ I got some pics uploaded for the first time! Yea me πŸ™‚

  5. Robyn February 18, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Great post and you’re absolutely right it does get better with time. I’m going on a year and a half from my devastating break-up and it’s still tough but getting easier every day.

Leave a Reply

