What the F*** are you wearing?!?!

17 Feb

I may not have mentioned it the other night, but there tends to be a crazy late night crowd at the gym. The other night, I watched a girl stare at herself in the mirror while she did a sensual version of the “cabbage patch” dance while her friend was walking an 18-minute mile on the dreadmill with no incline, and she was hanging on for dear life. I almost pulled a “Jillian”. Ya know what I’m talking about. That girl needed a talkin-to about hands on the treadmill.

So the “cabbage patch” girl was back tonight. She jumped on the treadmill right next to me. She walked for a few minutes but started running a 10-minute mile. Yes, I’m a treadmill peeker… shhh! So here I am running my big butt off at a 10:20 pace thinking “how is the girl running faster than me?!?!” But thankfully, she lasted all of 30 seconds and jumped right off. I wish I had that kind of “work ethic”… (sarcasm). And then I look down at her feet. She’s wearing jazz shoes! To run in!!!! I’m not even going to talk about her choice of running pants. Just look at her.

Seriously, WTF was she thinking when she dressed herself to go to the gym? And yes, I took a picture of her. Oh, the benefits of an iPhone. She probably just thought I was listening to music. I feel that people like this just need to be sat down and told how ridiculous they are.

Maybe I should have given up making fun of people for Lent? Nahhh.. I gave up dating flaky ass guys instead. Well, I’m not religious, so this is neither here nor there.

*********

OK, on to other things. You know how I said yesterday how I felt bad about not letting my mom come with me to Orlando for my second March trip? Well, I told her today I’d like her to come along. She declined. Booo.

*********

Am I Cute as a Bunny yet? Not yet, but I did meet my mini-goal for today, and I drank 66 ounces of water.

********

I have 16 days until I leave for Disney, and I heard there’s another snowstorm on its way here. So I’m just going to do my best to get in some good runs and not worry about long runs. I did 9 miles a few weekends ago with no problems, so I thinking (hoping rather) that I’ll do fine with 13 miles. Plus, I’m in desperate need of new shoes. Mine look a little run-down, right?

I’m way overdue on getting new shoes. They’re giving me a lot of pain. And before you say anything, I know these are trail running shoes. When I first bought them, I was running on the trail more than pavement. But they’ve worked really well on the road. But it’s time for New Sneaker Day!

Oh! Forgot to mention what my workout was tonight. I did 2 miles on the treadmill in 21:58 (10:59 pace). I really just wanted to run for the fun of it tonight.

When you first started working out, did you wear the wrong clothes to the gym? Wear anything embarrassing like what’s pictured above?

8 Responses to “What the F*** are you wearing?!?!”

  1. JC February 18, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Haha! So I’ve often wondered if people pay attention to the other people in the gym (other than those guys who blatantly check women out).. well now I know! But then again, if someone is doing the cabbage patch & running in jazz shoes, it’d be hard not to look.

    BTW, I am SO fudging jealous you’re going to Disney. Best place ever.

  2. Jasmine @ Eat Move Write February 18, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    I think my shoes are probably embarrassing, although you’d have to get pretty close to realize how bad they look. They’re gym-appropriate, or they once were. They’re 2 years old which is really not reasonable for someone who works out almost every day for 2 years. Ugh! 🙂

  3. thefitbridesmaid February 18, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I’d like to say that I’ve never worn anything quite that bad, but who knows. Maybe I’m on someone’s blog some where. Although I’m totally with you on the clothing and not working hard issues. I totally judge people I see wearing things like jeans or walking very slowly. I know they can do better (and they should for themselves).

  4. Catherine February 18, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Ahahaha thank you so much for taking a picture… visuals are always soo much better!! I can’t say I’ve ever made a faux paus like that since I have kinda been working out/doing sports since I was minature, but I do see my share of interesting outfits while at the gym and running outside. Actually in central park I once saw a guy running in a jumpsuit and a gas mask. True, he was probably in the military and training for something, but I almost fell it startled me so much!

  5. marathonmaiden February 18, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    haha too funny. i’ve always been wayy self conscious about what i wear to the gym. but i’ve seen people working out in flip flops and jeans before

  6. John February 18, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    I’d love a crowd like that…it would keep me entertained on the nights I didn’t really want to be there!

  7. Caren February 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    When I first started working out, I was too big to really find work out clothes that fit well but I was able to find a couple longer t-shirts and some stretchy capri pants. It didn’t look cute but it looked WAY better than that. I never wore jazz shoes though. (LMAO @ “jazz shoes”)

    It was a great day when I could finally buy real work out clothes.

    I think you’re going to do great for your race. I’m really creeping up there with my training and longer runs but I’d never be ready in two weeks, I’m still finding 5+ miles really difficult.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part One « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 10, 2010

    […] goodie bag. The goodie bag was a purple mesh drawstring backpack, which I think I might donate to Crazy Gym Girl. And the shirts were sized wrong, so I got an XL instead of the Large I requested. Oh […]

Leave a Reply

