11 Miles!

20 Feb

I got back from the running store today, threw on my running clothes and my old shoes, and grabbed a Gu. While I stretched, I brought the laptop down on the floor and mapped my run on Mapmyrun.com. I mapped out 11 miles through my neighborhood and my town. It was about 48 degrees today, and by the end of my first mile, I was wishing I hadn’t worn my long sleeve wicking shirt. Oh well. The run was feeling really well, but by mile 4 or 5, I thought for sure I’d have to knock on some stranger’s door to use the bathroom. Ack! But it passed.

Mile 7 brought a “hill”/bridge, something that I hadn’t really been training for at all. But I purposely added it to my run today because I know there will be some kind of on-ramp situation at Disney. It was excrutiating! I just had to keep thinking there was a downhill part of this torture.

By Mile 9 I wanted nothing to do with running anymore. I was ready to quit. But I was still 2 miles from home, and it would be faster to get home if I just kept running. My lower back was tensing up, and my toes were in a lot of pain. Plus, my hips felt immobile.

The last 2 miles were pure and utter torture, but I had to keep repeating some positive mantras. “It’s easy”, “pain is temporary, pride is forever”, and after a while, I just repeated “pride” over and over again out loud. It was the only thing that got me through.

When I hit the last quarter mile, I started crying. A rush of pride overwhelmed me. I had just run ELEVEN MILES! Never in my life have I ever thought I was capable of doing this.. I’m crying typing this.

As soon as I got home, I stretched a little and went right to the kitchen to make a Green Monster made with soy milk, flax seed, spinach, a banana, 1 scoop of protein powder, blueberries, and ice. It hit the spot! I enjoyed it while spending quite a while stretching in the living room.

Some views from my run…

This isn't the bridge I mentioned. I wouldn't complain about a flat bridge πŸ˜‰

The Delaware Bay and a snowy beach!

So once I was all stretched and showered, I mapped out my run again since I had to take a little detour because one of the roads hadn’t been plowed yet. Well, turns out I actually went 11.6 miles in 2 hours, 14 minutes! A pace of 11:33. I’m so proud πŸ™‚ Side note- DailyMile says this run burned 2043 calories. Can this really be true?

I’m thankful this is the last long run I have until the race. I’m going to be doing some 3 and 5 mile runs until race day, which will also get my new shoes race-ready.

Now I’m putting the laptop away to enjoy a good night relaxing on the couch with the Olympics. I’m going to the movies tomorrow to see Shutter Island with my friend Ellen, and we’re having sushi afterwards! Any suggestions for vegetarian sushi? I’m thinking California rolls might be my only option. We’ll see.

Night night, my lovies!

16 Responses to “11 Miles!”

  1. John February 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Congratulations on the run!

    What’s the red brick building?

    • runeatdatesleep February 21, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      It’s the Zwaanendael Museum. It’s modeled after the town hall in Hoorn, the Netherlands. It commemorates the founding of Delaware’s first European settlement by the Dutch in 1631.

  2. marathonmaiden February 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    awesome job! that must be such a feeling of accomplishment. bask in the glow of this run girl πŸ™‚

    • runeatdatesleep February 22, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Thank you!!! I’ve been feeling all kinds of proud πŸ™‚

  3. Jules February 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Ahhh I ❀ sushi! But I like meat. So I can't help you with the veggie stuff, sorry! I have read a lot of calorie stuff and with running, and on average, whether you walk it or run it, a normal person burns about 100 calories per mile. Doesn't quite equal to what you found. Check it out, let me know if you found something different.

  4. Cassie February 20, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    Girly I’m so proud of you! I remember when I started reading your blog and you weren’t running anything close to what you are now-you’ve come so incredibly far! Congrats!

    • runeatdatesleep February 22, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me πŸ™‚

  5. Marathon Running Shoes February 21, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    Nice site. Great way to keep track of your goals and make sure you reach your targets. Well done on getting to 11 miles. Upwards on onwards…

  6. Robyn February 21, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Wow, congrats!! Way to push through and love the mantra pain is temporary, pride is forever. I’m gonna steal that one:)

  7. Caren February 21, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Congratulations! You are definitely going to be ready for the half marathon! I am so proud of you.

    I cried the other day when I finished my 6 miles on the treadmill but in my defense, a girl who was eliminated from American Idol was singing on “Ellen” and it was pretty emotional. πŸ˜‰

    Your new sneakers are so pretty! I have pink and purple on mine now too and it’s a nice change from the blue that I’ve always had. I can’t wait to hear how they work out for you.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • runeatdatesleep February 22, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great weekend!

  8. Kelly February 21, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Amazing! I reared up when I read that! Can’t wait to hear the race report in a few weeks.

    As for vegetarian sushi, I LOVE avacado sushi. Just rice and avacado. Mmm. I’ve also gotten cucumber sushi. Good as well. I don’t eat seafood so I always have to order “fake” sushi.

    • runeatdatesleep February 22, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you!! I ended up breaking my veg streak and got seafood after all. I’m disappointed in myself.

  9. Kelly February 21, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Sorry, teared up, not reared. That’s what I get for typing with my phone!

Leave a Reply

