New Sneaker Day!!!

20 Feb

The day has arrived! I bought new sneakers today!

I slept in until 11. Don’t judge. I was awake last night until 2am, and I had quite a rough week in regards to sleep. My immediate thought when I woke up was “I don’t wanna run today!” But I had to stop that kind of attitude and started thinking about how the race is only 2 weeks away, and I’m lucky enough to even be able to run. Some people aren’t that fortunate. Plus, it was finally New Sneaker Day!!!

I had some oatmeal and PB for breakfast.  I then headed on over to Rehoboth Beach Running Company around noon, and Bob did a gait analysis on me. First, he watched me walk barefoot across the room and then measured my feet. My right foot is slightly longer than the left foot. And then he had me try on a pair of Asics Gel Nimbus 11 shoes so I could run on the treadmill to be videotaped. They felt really supportive and not to mention, very pretty!

Side note- when I told Bob I wanted to take a picture, I said it was for my blog. He was so intrigued by it and asked a bunch of questions. 🙂

Bob analyzed my foot placement and saw that my right foot hits perfectly, but my left foot has a very slight roll-in. So he picked out some Saucony shoes with a bit more support. I repeated the treadmill process and didn’t really feel a difference, and by watching the video, they didn’t do much for the roll-in. So, I ended up with the Asics! I’ve never owned Asics before, but I always thought they looked really sharp. When he rang up the price, I said “oh good, right at my limit”, so he threw in the brand new socks I tried on for the analysis for free because he knew I didn’t have appropriate running socks.

So here are my beautiful new shoes! I’m in love!

Beware the cankle!

And the socks I got for free!

Feetures

When I got home, I had to take these babies off and put on my old ones for my 11-miler. More on that later. I must make dinner! I’m starving!

4 Responses to “New Sneaker Day!!!”

  1. marathonmaiden February 20, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    yay 🙂 this made me giddy. i want to go to a running store now!

  2. Mark Chard February 20, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Nice kicks!

  3. Cassie February 20, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Cute shoes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tips for New Runners « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - September 4, 2011

    […] Get fitted for proper running shoes. The last thing I would want you to do is go out for some runs in your old shoes and risk injury and end up thinking you’re the problem when it’s actually the shoes you’re wearing. If you run in old shoes, you can risk getting blisters, and shin splints might plague you instantly. Any running store with trained staff should be able to give you a free gait analysis. They will record your foot placement as you run on a treadmill. By examining your foot placement, they can suggest some shoes that will work well for you. Everyone has different feet, different foot placement, and different strides, so asking someone else what they wear won’t really help you. You can read about my gait analysis experience. […]

Leave a Reply

