Taper Time

22 Feb

I have 13 days until the Disney Princess Half Marathon, so I have officially started my own version of a taper. Today’s run was 3 miles on the treadmill with my new shoes and new running skirt. I felt so cute! I did 3 miles in 34:15, an 11:24 pace.

First I’ll review the skirt, which is a Nike Dri-Fit skirt from last year’s inventory. It felt really great. It’s really smooth, and the color is adorable!! I was always hesitant about trying a skirt, but I immediately found a huge benefit to wearing a skirt to run. My shorts usually ride up in the crotch area because of my chunky thighs, but you can’t see the little shorts underneath the skirt riding up. So, I won’t be tugging at my shorts while I run anymore! Perfect! For $15, this was a great buy! I can see myself buying a lot more!

Next, my shoes.. the Asics Gel Nimbus 11. They have really awesome heel support and lots of comfort all throughout the shoe. During my first mile, I had a little bit of pain on the top of my foot, so I loosened up the laces. And for the rest of the run, they felt fabulous! They made the treadmill bearable. I hope to get a few more short runs in before the race so they’re “race ready”.

I can tell I didn’t stretch long enough after my 11.6 mile run because my calves and hamstrings are still really tight. I’m going to spend some time tonight stretching out a little more.

I have barely brought this up, but there’s only 27 days until the NYC Half Marathon! I’ve gotten so worked up over the Disney half, that I’ve almost forgotten I have another half-marathon just 2 weeks afterwards! Ack!

And there’s the Broad Street Run in Philadelphia, which is a 10-mile race, on May 2nd. I think I need to have a race scheduled to keep me on track.

What about you? Do you need to have something to train for in order to keep yourself on track?

3 Responses to “Taper Time”

  1. marathonmaiden February 22, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    i find that i love having something to train for because it gives me a focus. i mean, i’ll run regardless of if i have a race in mind but i love how determined i get when i do.

    and woooooooooooot to taper. you must be getting PUMPED!

  2. Caren February 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    I LOL every time I hear “Nimbus” with sneakers because I think of Harry Potter. Glad you liked your new shoes though! 😉

    I really hope you do decide to do the Broad St. Run, my cousin and her friend are coming from CT to do it and we could all think about staying in the City the night before if you’re interested. I’ll have to see financially when it gets closer of course. You’d certainly be welcome to stay at my house so you’re closer if you want to too.

    Anyway, I registered already and they make you choose a finish time, I picked 2 hours because I really didn’t have a frame of referance other than finishing 5 miles in just under an hour. If you do decide to register and want to start at the same time as I do, pick the same so we are in the same corral. I hope my cousin who is much faster than I am does that!

    Ok, lots of rambling. I’m off to bed. Good night!

  3. Robyn February 23, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Wow 2 halfs in a row, you rock girlie!

Leave a Reply

