Intuitive Eating

23 Feb

This is going to be a short post because I’m attempting to go to bed at a decent time.

But I’ve been intrigued by the Intuitive Eating stuff I’ve been reading a little bit about.

So what is intuitive eating? Intuitive Eating teaches you how to create a healthy relationship with food and build a wisdom about your body.

The first principle is

1. Reject the Diet Mentality Throw out the diet books and magazine articles that offer you false hope of losing weight quickly, easily, and permanently. Get angry at the lies that have led you to feel as if you were a failure every time a new diet stopped working and you gained back all of the weight. If you allow even one small hope to linger that a new and better diet might be lurking around the corner, it will prevent you from being free to rediscover Intuitive Eating.

And I think I’ve got that one down. But the next one is

2. Honor Your Hunger Keep your body biologically fed with adequate energy and carbohydrates. Otherwise you can trigger a primal drive to overeat. Once you reach the moment of excessive hunger, all intentions of moderate, conscious eating are fleeting and irrelevant. Learning to honor this first biological signal sets the stage for re-building trust with yourself and food.

I need to work on this one. I get to the point where I’m so hungry that I start to binge. I need to “check in” more with my hunger.

I tried to eat today only when I was hungry, but I don’t think I listened to what my body wanted. The only thing I heard was “I’m hungry”, not “I’m hungry for this or this”. So when I calculated up my calories, it came up to a little over 1900 calories, a lot more than what I used to eat just a few weeks ago.

I was eating 1200 calories a day when I was seeing the weight loss doctor (and believe, I know that’s low), and I successfully lost about 24 pounds in 8 months. Now that I’m not seeing him, I’ve tried to refocus my thinking on what my body needs instead of putting a limit on it. But, I’m watching the scale creep up, and that scares me!

So I’ll be back to write more about Intuitive Eating, and I’m going to just go with the flow this week and eat when I’m hungry and try to be more in tune with what I think my body needs, rather than what I think I want to put in my mouth (ok, that came out pervy.. sorry).

Night night!

5 Responses to “Intuitive Eating”

  1. John February 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    I keep telling myself and anyone that asks that I’m making a lifestyle change and I’m not on a diet.

    As for the honor the hunger I do when I’m hungry but I’m rarely hungry now as I eat every 3-4 hours whether hungry or not.

    My mind is usually in the gutter but till you made the pervy comment it didn’t cross my mind. I must be really tired from badminton tonight!

  2. marathonmaiden February 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    hahaha “trying to go to bed at a decent time”. only funny because that’s what i’m trying to do and yet failing miserably!

  3. Caren February 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    I call it “mindful eating” but I love the idea of intuitive eating as well. I think you’re doing great! Keep it up!

  4. Robyn February 24, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    This is a great post. I’ve always struggled with the diet mentality and have seriously tried everything out there. It’s a constant battle for me and I’d love to one day just reject it and simply listen to what my body tells me it needs.

  5. Jenna February 24, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Love this post! Lately when I’m hungry…I eat. Which seems healthy right? But I always have this voice in my head like it’s not lunch time yet Jenna. This made me feel better!

Leave a Reply

