Intuitive Eating continued

24 Feb

I’m really glad I posted last night about Intuitive Eating. It’s really changed my attitude towards what I’m eating, when I’m eating, and how much I’m eating. I’ve tried really hard today to listed to what my body needed. I usually get a hunger pain around noon, and I usually put it off because I’m so slammed with work that I don’t want to put the work aside to focus on me. But I felt hungry today at noon, and I put eveything aside to go make myself a veggie burger sandwich on a bagel thin. It totally hit the spot.

However, just 5 minutes ago, I remembered there were Reese’s cups in the office somewhere, and for a minute, I thought about finding them. But then I thought “is my body telling me that’s what it needs right now?” And you all know the answer was “no”, so I went back to my office and started back to work. I looked at my water bottle and told myself I would have to drink 2 of my water bottles before I let myself indulge in a sweet. Well, I probably won’t even be in the office when I’m done with my second bottle of water, and I won’t be tempted anymore.

Well, there’s more snow on the way. Joy! Do you hear the sarcasm in my typing? I hope you do. As of right now, we’re expected to get 4 inches of snow, but who knows if we’ll get more. I was hoping to go to the grocery store tonight to pick up a few things, but now I’m not looking forward to it because of all of the crazies who need to stock up on everything before a snowstorm.

I plan on going to the gym tonight to either ride the stationary bike or do a speed workout on Tread. Do you think I should do a speed workout during my taper?

6 Responses to “Intuitive Eating continued”

  1. marathonmaiden February 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    i’ve always kept in speedwork during the taper just do few repeats/miles of it. i’ve been told that the taper isn’t a time to cut intensity just duration…

  2. John February 24, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Nice work on the eating today. Your work will always be there but if you don’t take care of yourself………….

    I think you’re alright to keep it in but if you notice anything out of the ordinary wrong stop as you don’t want to waste your training and not be able to do the race!

    • runeatdatesleep February 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

      Thank you! I made the speed workout pretty short, so no injuries for me!

  3. Jules February 24, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    I have learned that when I speed train (I assume you mean running fast/sprinting some)? that I hurt myself. I asked a professional about it, and apparently when I am running faster I am landing on my heels more than my middle foot and it was making my knees hurt pretty badly. That happened this summer, I havn’t tried it again since! I have read it is good for improving your time, but I have learned it is not for me! πŸ˜› Good luck with whichever workout you do πŸ™‚

    Good job on resisting your treat πŸ™‚ I try to save a treat for the end of the day bc if I have them during, I seem to go down from there the rest of the day!

    • runeatdatesleep February 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Very interesting about what you found out about your speed workouts. I’ll have to take notice about how I land.

      I’m exactly like you with treats. If I start eating out of the candy jar early in the day, it just continues all day long!

Leave a Reply

