Speed Racer

24 Feb

So I followed the advice of a few of my lovely, loyal commentors and went to the gym for a date with Tread for a speed workout. I’m sure my version of a speed workout is drastically different than those of “real” marathoners or whatever, but it works for me. I did 30 minutes of 2/1 intervals of run/walk. For the running parts, I started at 6.0, and then for each new interval, I bumped it up another 0.1 until it got to 6.5, and then I started over again. To me, that’s speedy since I normally run at 5.4-5.6 on the treadmill. I finished 2.68 miles in 30 minutes, and 11:11 pace. I felt pretty great! I worked up quite a sweat, and my shoes didn’t bother me at all. Well, I do have a pretty new blister on one of my toes, but it happens.

On to intuitive eating… I did really well today listening to my hunger. I found that I ate pretty often throughout the day, which I can only assume means that my metabolism is working faster, which is a good thing! I consumed 1667 calories and burned 336. Feels like a good day to me!

My mom surprised me today with this note…

My mom and I work together, and she knows I’ve been leaving Operation Beautiful notes around, so she left me one on a file she wanted me to review. 🙂 How sweet is she?!

When I was done changing in to my running clothes in the gym locker room, I left a note for someone to find 🙂

I got another compliment at the gym. I was approached by a guy at the gym a few months ago and he said in passing “getting skinny, huh?” But tonight, he said he could tell I’ve lost more weight, and he asked how I had been doing it. So sweet. Made my night!

Time to do my 15 minutes of cleaning and watch some AI. Night night!

9 days until I leave for Disney World!

“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.” –Arthur Blank

5 Responses to “Speed Racer”

  1. marathonmaiden February 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    i left an operation beautiful note at the gym the other day and i hope it made someone smile the way it did for me! and awesome job on those intervals. it feels good to go fast 🙂

  2. Zoë February 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Woot! Great job with the speed training! And that’s so sweet of your mom. 🙂
    9 days?!?! HURRAY!

  3. cassie February 25, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I love that you left that note in the gym! That’s a fantastic idea!

    Congrats on doing your speed training!

  4. Robyn February 25, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I love that your mom left you that note, so sweet. Great interval workout!

  5. thewhatkateateblog February 25, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    your mom leaving a note is so cute! i wish i got to work with my mom, that would be so fun. 9 days! you must be getting so exciteddd

Leave a Reply

