Saturday’s Rambles

27 Feb

Hello there, lovely bloggies!

Today started out with a yummy not-so-green monster with protein powder, amarertto coffee creamer, a banana, and soy milk. I don’t even know why I didn’t put the spinach in. I tossed around some laundry and then got ready for a short run. This was my first run outside on pavement with my new shoes. The first mile was a little rough with some ankle pain, which I’ve never had during a run. But it subsided after my first walk break. I did 10/1 intervals (I didn’t do the last walk interval) and did 3.1 miles in 33 minutes (a 10:38 pace). I felt like the wind gods were conspiring against me. I was running against the wind no matter which direction I was running. My lower back immediately let me know it wasn’t happy though. I forgot to do my hip openers and yoga moves before running today. Ooops! As soon as I got home, I did some yoga and my back cracked big time! I think it said “thank you”, but I’m not too sure.

What’s your pre-run ritual? Stretching? Yoga? Fuel?

After my run, I heated up some Amy’s pizza for lunch and got a call from my mom asking if I wanted to grab a smoothie with her since she was going to be coming to my neighborhood to pick up a gift card to a salon. What a wonderful surprise πŸ™‚ I had a strawberry-banana smoothie, while she had an orange-banana smoothie. And we shared a delicious sandwich made with turkey, pesto, brie, and granny smith apples on multi-grain bread (I took the turkey off my half). YUM! We chit-chatted about our Disney vacation, work, and random stuff. We’re so excited for our trip!!!

One of my things on my to-do list today is to revise my packing list. One of the things I need to think about is an “after the race” bag. My mom is going to hold a bag for me while I run, and I need some things to be in this bag like:

  • dry tshirt and shorts
  • comfy sandals
  • Gatorade
  • Larabars

I know Disney will have water after the race, but does anyone know what they’ll have as far as protein? I wish I could have my mom keep a chocolate milk for me, but it won’t be kept cold enough. I wish I knew what Disney will be serving to us afterwards. I know we’ll be eating at Rainforest Cafe for lunch that day, but I want to know that I’ll have something to eat right afterwards. I’m getting paranoid and anxious now.. can you tell?

I still need to get a lot more done today:

  • Fold laundry
  • Watch Food Inc. on Netflix
  • Catch up on Lost
  • Revise my packing list

I’ve been reading The Non-Runner’s Marathon Guide for Women, and I just end up shaking my head at it. This woman is clearly inspirational because she’s a marathoner, but most of the book is about how much she hates to run. Sure, she’s making it funny, and I think she thinks she’s funnier the more she writes about hating running. But seriously? There are other activities she could have done if she wanted to get off the couch. Stop having a piss-poor attitude. Maybe the book gets better. Who knows? Oh, and I’ve been told not to follow the training plans in the book, so if you do grab this book to read sometime, don’t even glance at the training schedules. They’re useless, or so I’ve been told.

Do you have any good book recommendations for running marathons? I need to get myself mentally prepared for what I’m about to register myself for! (When I come home from the NYC Half, I’m registering for the WDW 2011 Marathon!)

Oh, another thing on my to-do for sometime this week… Spray tan! I know this makes me seem all “Jersey Shore” but it needs to be done. See?

I’m incredibly pale! I looked down at my legs the other day, and they almost looked green! Maybe it’s all the spinach… hehehe.

Ok, time to start cleaning my house!

6 Days!!!

5 Responses to “Saturday’s Rambles”

  1. marathonmaiden February 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    oh man i hate the wind. the worst is when you can never go in a direction where it isn’t. it’s like it’s spiraling around you!! bummer you had to deal with it but at least you got out there πŸ™‚

  2. lindybug February 27, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    After the WDW Half, I believe they gave out oranges, bananas, apples, muffins, raisins, and Clif bars.

    If you want your mom to bring chocolate milk, why not put it in a thermos?

  3. JC February 28, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    My pre-run ritual is just stretching for 5 minutes then doing a brisk 5 minute walk. Nothing special. Win can be such a pain in the bum… a nice cooling breeze is ok, but when it’s a bit rough… I have enough of a hard time breathing & running!

    Take pictures while you’re in Disney!

  4. Melissa March 1, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Love Walt Disney’s quote.

    I’m THINKING about running a marathon in the fall (maybe even the 2011 Disney one) so I’m also on the hunt for good running books and training plans.

    • runeatdatesleep March 1, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Oooh, that’s so exciting you’re thinking of running a marathon! Maybe we can do the 2011 one together πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

