Treasures

28 Feb

Today’s afternoon was spent at my grandfather’s house with parents, my aunt, my cousin Susan, and my grandfather sorting out some of his belongings because a major gas company has bought his house and land to tear down and build a gas station. It’s very sad for the whole family because my grandparents lived there for over 50 years together. But the time has come to go through his things and distribute them among the family members. I’m very excited about the things I was able to take home. Here’s just a little bit of what I got…

My grandmother's adorable apron

A beautiful hand painted bowl. The bottom says "Occupied Japan". Could be kinda valuable.

My grandmother's jewelry box

While the items in the jewelry box may not be monetarily valuable, they’re priceless to me. My grandmother has been gone for a few years now, and I’m so happy to have some her belongings now. It makes me feel closer to her. *tear* Plus, I’ve never had a proper jewelry box, so it’s about time I have my own!

I also got some furniture and other items, but I haven’t unpacked them yet. So more pictures to come!

But for now, I’m making mashed butternut squash. Here’s the beginning of it…

My first attempt!

I’m on a cleaning kick, so I better get back to it before my motivation to clean my house disappears!

4 Responses to “Treasures”

  1. Caren February 28, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Looks like you got some cool stuff. I LOL’d at the Avon box in your grandmom’s jewelry box, my grandmom’s jewelry box looked very similar.

    The “occupied Japan” bowl is really interesting. I’d love to know what you find out about it. I might just have to google it myself. Very cool.

    I like butternut squash roasted with cauliflower, somehow the two go well together, I just cube it up and toss it in Pam spray and herbs/garlic, etc. With the cauliflower florets and roast it in the oven. It’s yummy. Let me know how yours turns out.

  2. simplyshaka March 1, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I absolutely love that bowl. I love trinkets like that and how unique they are.

    I’ve never made my own butternut squash-I think I m too nervous about cutting it!

  3. Karly March 1, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Love the apron, I wear mine all the time… got it from Scot’s grandmother after she passed. I also just made butternut squash for Greta yesterday. It was so yummy!

  4. Cassie March 2, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Love the apron and I think it’s so sweet that now you can feel closer to your grandma =)

    That’s horrible that the gas station bought your grandpa’s house! 50 years is a long time!

Leave a Reply

