Marathon of a Month

1 Mar

So with two half-marathons this month, I thought the title was appropriate. Besides running two half-marathons, I’m running a 5K in between those, and I’m also heading to Florida for a second time at the end of the month for my mortgage broker licensing classes. What a busy month!?

You were wondering about the finished product of my butternut squash, right? Ok, let’s pretend you were…

I heated the oven to 425 degrees and baked for 30 minutes. After letting it cool a bit, I scooped out the seeds and then scooped out the rest. I added 2 tablespoons sugar and 2 tablespoons margarine and mashed it all together.Β  I should have used brown sugar, but I forgot to pick it up at the store. And of course, I know none of my neighbors, but do people really “borrow a cup of sugar” these days? It turned out to be delicious!! I rarely actually make any dishes, so I was proud it came out well, and I did it without a real recipe.

Want to see what else I got from my grandfather’s house?

This dresser was in my grandmother’s bedroom, and I think it goes perfectly in my dining area/stairwell landing. It’s beautiful πŸ™‚ I love that I have some of her things. It’s been really hard for me to get through the grieving process the past 7 years, but now that I have some of her belongings, I feel closer to her and I’m not so sad.

Today’s work-out was an “easy” ride on the stationary bike. I did 8.5 miles in 30 minutes. I forgot my headphones, so I kept myself occupied with Google Reader.

I thought I had more to write about, but it’s gone now. My mind has gone to bed. Night night πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Marathon of a Month”

  1. John March 1, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    It sure does help to have something that belonged to someone you lost. When my great-grandmother died I asked for and got the picture that hanged on the wall behind her when we visited her. I can look at that picture and remember everything about her and her living room.

  2. Caren March 2, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I was curious about your squash, really! Sounds good, I know my husband would like it for sure. I’m more of a “roasted” gal as opposed to a “mashed” but I bet it had a nice flavor.

    You’re going to think this is funny, guess what I did at the gym today? In addition to 30 minutes on the AMT… I did 8.5 miles on the bike in a half an hour! LMAO! I am still trying to work on that triathlon challenge… not fun.

    The dresser looks great there, I’m glad you got some things of your grandmom’s that you can enjoy.

  3. marathonmaiden March 2, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    i really like that dresser. looks great and i love the fact that it makes you feel closer to your grandmother

  4. Jules March 2, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    I actually was wondering how your squash turned out! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the update! I love squash but have never made it on my own before. The dresser looks wondeful there πŸ™‚ Oh and I am actually lucky enough to have neighbor/friends and I have borrowed a cup of suger, and eggs before πŸ™‚ I am lucky!

    This month sounds so exciting!! I wish you the best of luck and fun during the process πŸ™‚

  5. Robyn March 2, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Looks delish (the squash) and the dresser is awesome. I love antiques or pieces with meaning.

Leave a Reply

