Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part One

10 Mar

I know you all want to hear race details now, but I’m going to start from the beginning of my half-marathon weekend.

On Friday, my mom and I caught a flight from Philly to Orlando at 10am and checked in to our hotel, Disney Port Orleans Riverside.

We quickly grabbed some personal pizzas at the food court before heading over to Celebration to check out some office space for my new business I’ll be starting in Orlando in the next few months.

My mom and I were both super impressed by the office building and the staff. I’m very excited to begin my new business venture in Florida!!! (if you live in Florida and need a mortgage, let me know) πŸ˜‰

Pictures around Celebration

Neighborhood Clubhouse

There was this really cute kids’ candy store downtown. I just had to take pictures of the cupcakes they were selling. And the kids get to create a plate full of their favorite treats. Soooo adorable!

Once we were done looking around Celebration, my mom and I headed on over to the Disney’s Wide World of Sports for the Fit for a Princess Expo. I used to work at the All Star Cafe at the Wide World of Sports, so it was great to be back at my old stompin’ grounds!

I was greeted at the expo with a red carpet and these fine young men

The scene inside the expo

As soon as I walked into the building, I was told the order in which I needed to go, so I headed directly to the back to pick up my racing bib and D-Tag (timing chip).

I was a little less than thrilled about my Corral E placement since I already knew this was the last corral and was pretty much designated for those people planned on doing a lot of walking. Although, I found this to be quite inaccurate since Leslie registered for the race the day it opened and submitted proof of time only to be stuck in Corral E as well. After that, I was told to validate my D-Tag and pick up my goodie bag. The goodie bag was a purple mesh drawstring backpack, which I think I might donate to Crazy Gym Girl. And the shirts were sized wrong, so I got an XL instead of the Large I requested. Oh well.

The expo was full of awesome companies, and I found so many things I wanted to purchase… but it was crazy crowded, and I knew I could buy everything online or at the running store. But I picked up a lot of marathon pamphlets, and I’m thinking about signing up the Disneyland Half Marathon on 9/5 and the Food & Wine Half in Disney World in October.

I’m sorry, but I was not interested in any of the clothing Disney had for sale. Just because we’re women and running a princess race, does not mean I want to look bedazzled and prissy pink. No thank you, Disney.

My mom and I got back to the resort, had some delicious salads at the food court, unpacked, and I took a picture of my “swag” and new racing shirt.

Just look at all of that precious loot! Are you sensing my sarcasm? Gee, Disney, you really gave us a lot… a wrongly-sized shirt, eyedrops, a disposable camera, socks, and a mini Luna bar. Whoop-de-doo.

Well, that’s it for Friday’s recap. Stay tuned for Saturday’s recap.. I got to meet some other bloggers!!!

7 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part One”

  1. sonjaaislynne March 10, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    yay! I’ve been waiting for this haha

    I saw someone elses swag bag and they had alot more! hmm.

    I’m so proud of you for doing this! & you look great! πŸ™‚

    I’ve been eyeing these 1/2s for a little while. Looks like fun!

    & I love Celebration. M & I always visit there so we can eat at that Steakhouse! Have you ever been there during Christmas when they have the fake snow fall from the lamp posts? haha

    When do you move?!

    • runeatdatesleep March 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

      Hmm.. maybe they picked up more at other booths at the expo. What I took a picture of was all Disney gave me in my bag.

      The first time I visited Celebration was during the holidays, and I was so mesmerized by the fake snow. Haha!

  2. Kelly March 10, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Um. Okay. I hate when they have wrongly sized shirts! See here: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_JPnGCgYpMDg/So74W8p7YgI/AAAAAAAAAO4/mrpxM3Lnluk/s1600-h/untitled.bmp (That’s me in the XXL shirt!)

    πŸ˜€

    Can’t wait to hear about the rest of the race!

  3. marathonmaiden March 10, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    love all the pictures. can’t wait for part two! i heard from someone else that the expo wasn’t the greatest and that the sizing for the shirts was wrong for everyone. bummer

  4. Leslie March 10, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    love the recap! πŸ™‚

  5. allisonisactive March 13, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    I did NOT like the gear they were selling either – only one long sleeve shirt and no sweatshirts. 😦 Also, the “I Did It” shirt looked like it had been airbrushed at a county fair. My friend Karen did snag one of the black jackets and it looks fab on her, but there were only smalls when I got there. Sigh.

  6. FruitFly July 28, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    Hello! I’m a new reader of yours – I’m pretty sure I must have found your site via a Princess 1/2 Marathon group on FB.

    Anyway …. this year’s Princess will be my first ever 1/2 and I can’t wait. I’m enjoying reading about your experience – helps build up my own anticipation. And I LOVED to see pictures of Celebration. I used to work in WDW, too, and all those reminded me of the good ol’ days!

    Funny you were disappointed in the swag. (Back story…) I went to run the Royal Family 5K – my 2nd 5K ever. I got there and was mortified to carry around a clear plastic bag with my ugly cotton t-shirt in it. I was so jealous of the real runners with their backpacks. Disney shamed me into aiming higher. It was at the expo I decided to run the 1/2 next year! But then I went to an expo here in Oregon for one of our big races – and the goody bag I got was sooo much better than what Disney did for anybody this year. I hope they step up their game in 2011. We certainly pay enough for i!

    Okay, now I must continue reading about your race!
    ~Ronda Rae

Leave a Reply

