Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Two

10 Mar

I spent the majority of Friday night waking up from nightmares. Ya know the ones you have about sleeping in and missing the race? Yeah, I had those ALL.NIGHT.LONG!

My mom and I spent Saturday morning over at Celebration’s Porch & Yard Sale. We couldn’t spend too much time over there because I was going to meet some blogger princesses at Pizza Fusion at noon. So, my mom and I picked up a few goodies (because rich people have good stuff!), and then we (or should I say “I”) got lost in Celebration and landed us about 10 minutes late to the blogger meet-up.

It was such a neat experience to walk in and see so many familiar faces. I’ve never met any of these wonderful ladies before, but I feel like I already knew so much about them.

(stealing some of Meghann‘s pictures)

Recognize everyone? ๐Ÿ™‚

I customized my own personal pizza with roma tomatoes, portabello mushrooms, organic mozzerella, and pesto sauce. Delicious! The crust was crispy and oh so tasty! All of the ingredients at Pizza Fusion are organic or all-natural. Loved it! I can see myself going there often when I move to Florida.

After lunch, we headed out to the parking lot to see how many of us could fit in Caitlin and Meghann‘s Chevy Traverses.

From left to right: Ashley, Leslie, Caroline, Julie, Kate, Anne, Meghann, Kelly, me, Ryan, Katy, Megan (Caitlin not pictured because she took this picture).. Also not picture are Lindsey and Katy.

Half of us agreed we all needed a little bit more Menchie’s in our lives, so we headed over there promptly after lunch. I had never been, but I had read all about this amazing fro-yo place on a lot of blogs.

You start with a bowl and fill it with your favorite fro-yo flavors, top it with a slew of candy and sauces, and end up with something like this…

My mom loved it!

It was such a great experience to meet all of these inspiring, amazing women. My running journey would not have been the same had I not followed their journeys as well. I hope to see all of them again sometime very soon!

After finishing our delicious fro-yo, my mom and I headed back to the hotel to rest by the pool.

Port Orleans' pool

My mom enjoyed an orange creamsicle smoothie while I attempted to catch up with Google Reader on my iPhone.

My very good friend, Brandy, came in to town around 6:30 to help cheer me on as I run the half-marathon. We wanted to have dinner at Bahama Breeze, but the wait was incredibly long, as was the wait at T-Rex at Downtown Disney. Brandy and I had dinner at House of Blues when I was in Orlando in December, and we were both craving their pasta again. And since I needed to “carb up”, we decided to head on over there. My plan was to be in bed by 9, but we actually didn’t even get a table until almost 9.

I ordered the Wild Mushroom and Roasted Chicken Pasta without the chicken. I’m in love with this meal!

Me and my mama

Me & Brandy

We quickly made our way back to the resort, hopped in bed, and set our alarms for 2am. Disney put the fear of god in to us about being at Epcot at o’dark thirty.

I’ll be back with my race recap shortly!

11 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Two”

  1. John March 10, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Looks like a good time so far.

  2. marathonmaiden March 10, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    what an awesome day! looks like it was a blast! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lindsey @ Sound Eats March 10, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    It was great seeing you, wish there had been more time to talk and get to know everyone at the meet up!

    • runeatdatesleep March 10, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

      It was great meeting you too! I agree, I wish we had more time to talk and get to know everyone! Thank you for the delicious treats! I still have one left ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. JC March 11, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    Oooooh I am so jealous so far! I’ve decided I HAVE to do a Disney Marathon or Half Marathon. It looks like everything was a blast!

  5. Jennifer March 11, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    Congratulations on your half! I found your blog through Caren’s. I love your pictures, I live in Orlando, and used to live in Celebration, love that town! My mother still lives there, so I love to hang out there. Good luck with your move, and congrats on your weight loss! Your blog is great!

  6. megzzwinsatlife March 11, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    It was great meeting you too!!! You did awesome!!! I hope to see you again!

  7. Caroline March 12, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Funny that we were both in Celebration Saturday morning! I didn’t even think about checking out the sale, even though I saw it everywhere. I’m jealous you’ll get to work there, its absolutely adorable!

  8. allisonisactive March 13, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Glad you spent so much time in Celebration. I’m going to have to get to those blogger meet-ups one of these days! We spent our Saturday riding Toy Story Mania and looking for Hidden Mickeys at DHS after watching my friend run in the 5k

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I finally won something! « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 13, 2010

    […] of the first blogs I read every day is And Her Little Dog Too (Leslie and I met at the blogger meet-up last week in Orlando), and I see that I won her Amy’s Soups giveaway. I’m so excited!!! […]

  2. Day One of Orlando Trip « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 27, 2010

    […] looking around, I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner… Pizza Fusion! I did a repeat of the blogger meet-up! I ordered this delicious […]

Leave a Reply

