Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Three

11 Mar

My alarm went off at 2am for race morning! I jumped in the shower to find there was no hot water. What a wake-up!! Our plan was to be out of the room around 3am to catch one of the first buses headed to Epcot, and we were right on time.

I had the Arnold Thin and PB I packed for race morning breakfast.

Brandy caught me getting ready

We were able to catch the very first bus out of Port Orleans at 3am, and we were only accompanied by 2 other runners. I guess everyone else wasn’t as scared as me about not being able to catch a bus.

On the bus on the way to Epcot

When we were dropped off, it seemed like we were one of the first groups to get there. A DJ was already blasting some dance jams, and we were able to hit up the port-a-potties before the lines were 15 women deep.

It was super cold out! Mom and Brandy were bundled up, but thank goodness I trained in freezing temperatures. I was able to withstand the cold a little better.

We sat around until 4:30ish when we were all directed to the big white tent to make the final 20-minute trek to the corrals. But before that, I met up with Kate and Caroline. We had a great time chit-chatting about training, etc. When it came time to get into our corrals, Caroline decided to drop back to Corral E with me. Thank goodness she did! I would have been lonely. We were told to be in our corrals by 5:30, and Corral E’s start wasn’t until 6:28, so we were huddled all together with no room to stretch for almost an hour. This was NOT good for the muscles! I would learn the real effects of this around mile 7. Also, Corral E couldn’t hear any of the music or the Fairy Godmother. But.. we did get to watch the starting line fireworks for all of the corrals ahead of us.

And then it was time for our own fireworks!

Caroline and I ran the first three miles together, weaving in and out of the slower runners and walkers. It was a packed crowd! I was feeling awesome! I was in a good stride, and thoughts were going through my head like “I think I could run this WHOLE THING!” Once I got to the Magic Kingdom toll plaza and the 3 mile marker, I decided to follow my training more and start with the run/walk intervals (10 minutes running, 1 minute walking), which also meant I had to bid farewell to Caroline. However, it wasn’t long until I got to a water stop and had to walk and weave. So, the plan of doing intervals was shot in my mind even though it shouldn’t have been. I ran most of miles 4 and 5, which curved through the MK parking lot and on to the Contemporary.

The 5th mile marker was at the end of the incline, and then it was time to enter the Magic Kingdom!

I knew my mom and Brandy had plans of taking the monorail over to MK, so I was trying to look for them as I was running by the castle, and then all of a sudden, there was my mom… and Danielle! Danielle and I have been friends online for about 5 or 6 years, but this was the first time I met her. And by “met her”, I mean, I quickly hugged my mom, hugged Danielle, and zoomed right on off to run some more. Danielle, we need to meet up sometime when I move to Florida! She snapped some pictures of me.

Once we were past the castle, we ran in to Tomorrowland and through Fantasyland.. and then through Cinderella’s Castle!

Once we were out of Castle country, we headed in to Liberty Square and Frontierland and out of through the back lots of MK. This is where I let my mind play tricks on me. I knew that once I was out of MK, there was really nothing left to be excited about. It was just the road and a bunch of women (some who were not courteous at all when you said “excuse me” to get around them”).

Miles 7-9 were the beginning of a very unpleasant experience for me. My hips were now extremely stiff, a result of not being able to properly stretch prior to the start of the race. Nothing else was hurting though, but it was hard to move with such stiffness. I tried several times to stretch and do some yoga positions on the side of the road.

As I was approaching the 10 mile marker, I was really beating myself up for allowing myself to walk so much. I knew I wasn’t going to make my time goal of 2:30-2:40. I knew I needed some motivation, so seeing as I had my iPhone with me for music, I logged on to Facebook and asked all of my friends to send me encouraging words. The support was overwhelming, to say the least. They all had such wonderful things to say. I did find myself calling Jeff (the ex) for extra support because he’s been extremely supportive throughout my whole training process. I broke down in tears as soon as I heard his voice. I was very disappointed and so mad at the same time.

The 11th mile brought a slanted on-ramp situation, and by this time, I was walking mostly. But it was cool to go over the overpass and look down at the sea of runners below. So awesome!

The 12th mile was a rather boring straight shot, and even though I knew it was almost the end, I still couldn’t bring myself to run much.

Danielle saw me again in the last mile of the race as I was heading in to Epcot.

(sorry my finger is in the way in that video!)

The last mile through Epcot was lined with Epcot cast members and volunteers, including Meghann! Gotta love her sign 🙂 (this is her picture I swiped)

When I saw her, I knew the finish line was close. This is the only picture I got of a mile marker. If you want to see all of them, check out this blog.

And the last video… the finish line!

After finishing, I stumbled upon my good friend Bethany! She and I worked together at Disney for a few years. I’ve missed her!

I chatted with her for a bit and ate a bagel and a banana before meeting up with my mom.

And here’s my time and my splits…

According to this my pace was 13:02/minute, but everyone with a Garmin said the race was 13.25 miles, so my pace would then be 12:54. I’m disappointed in my time, but hey, I finished. That’s what matters, right? Especially since it’s my first half-marathon!

Well, that’s my race recap without any of my opinions.. stay tuned for my pros and cons of this race!
Until then, I leave you with this…

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” -John Bingham

26 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Three”

  1. Andrea March 11, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I am SO PROUD OF YOU! You did it! Congratulations!
    I love that you have video of it all too. So cool!

    Hugs!

  2. marathonmaiden March 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    CONGRATS!!! such a huge accomplishment. be proud of yourself because you gutted it out 🙂 whooooo-hoooooo!!!

  3. John March 11, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Congratulations! I must have forgot it was your first or didn’t start reading early enough to know that. So yeah that last quote is so true. You had the courage to do it and you had the guts to finish it no matter how it was going. The next one will only be better!

  4. megzzwinsatlife March 11, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    awesome job girl!!! Don’t be disappointed you did so well!! This was our first half and we finished!!! You should be really proud of yourself. I am sure your going to do even better in the NYC half!

  5. cg. March 11, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Great race update!
    It made me chunkle that you were on the first bus — I had to stop myself from doing that!

  6. JC March 11, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Yayyy you did it! So what did some of those (not so nice) ladies say when you tried to go around them?

    • runeatdatesleep March 11, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Thank you! When I said “excuse me”, they would give me dirty looks and say “you can go AROUND”. Well, “around” meant running sideways for 10 feet because there was a wall of walkers.

  7. Christy March 11, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    very proud of you!!! to remember where you started and see the progress you have made is amazing and so inspiring. you rock!!

  8. Melissa March 11, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Thanks for sharing the great recaps! You’re right: You finished. You’re a Half Marathoner! 🙂

    Awesome job! Be proud of yourself!!! I’m interested in reading the pros and cons since I still want to sign up for the Wine Dine Half in the fall but I’ve been holding off.

  9. Stacy March 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Be glad you got on the first bus!! I got out there at 3:30 & didn’t get picked up until 4:10!!

    Your videos are so fun! Glad you posted them– thanks!

    The garmin difference is almost always due to the fact that the race course is measured/certified with the shortest possible line from start to finish. Since most of us don’t hug the inside of every turn, and we have to weave in and our occasionally, the longer the race the bigger difference you see. Mine said like 13.18 which I think was actually my “shortest” distance recorded for a half. Crazy!!

    It sounds like you had an awesome first race though. Congrats!!

  10. nikki224 March 11, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Just stumbled on your blog and loved reading your race recap! I just did my first half on Feb 7 and I related to your weaving around people in the first 3 miles…and being over it in mile 11! Congratulations on finishing! 🙂

  11. Ashley March 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Way to go! I am so pumped for this race (in 2011)!!!!

  12. Zoë March 12, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Great recap! Congrats on your first half marathon! You will be fantastic in the next one because you know what it’s all about. 🙂
    Woot!

  13. Caroline March 13, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Yay! I didn’t know there wasn’t much to look forward to after the castle but I’m glad I didn’t know that going in. I definitely (okay, most likely) won’t be doing this race again because of it.

  14. Tiffany March 15, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Good job on finishing the race that is awesome. I can’t believe you got up at 2am and had to wait in the corrals for an hour. But I have never done a HUGE race like that!

  15. Danielle March 15, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Hey lady! I’m so behind on my google reader that I’m just now reading your recaps from the race and vacation. I still have to do my recap as a spectator, too.

    I’m so glad that I was able to “meet” you for a few seconds and snap a few pictures! It was nice to meet your mom and it was very nice of her to keep me company through out most of the morning. Tell her I said “hello” 🙂

  16. Emily March 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Congratulations!! I enjoyed reading your race recap!

  17. Heather March 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I stumbled upon your blog while looking for a princess charm since ideclarecharms.com sold out during the Disney Princess Half marathon & I wanted one.

    ANYway, you were literally just 3 minutes behind me during the race! We probably crossed pathes at some point. lol I did NOT walk away from that event with a good attitude at all. This was my first half as well. My Garmin clocked me finishing in 2:29:26 which would have been great if it were an official time. The Garmin stops ticking when I stop moving. I had to stop multiple times to deal with diarrhea (nice!). The chip time ended up being 2:47:58. I was heartbroken. I worked so hard. Trained for 10 months. Sigh. Moving on.

    I’m glad to see you’re feeling better about the event than I did. I will say, I feel better about it now that the shock over my awful time has absorbed a bit. Looks like I wasn’t the only one feeling bummed about the massive crowd, lack of goodies in the fugly mesh bag, boring route except in the MK, etc. I wish I would have started in Corral B like I was supposed to, but went back to E with my friends. Oh well. Next year will be better. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garmin Day! « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - May 6, 2010

    […] wanted this for sooooo long, but I told myself I would only get it as a reward for running the Disney Princess Half Marathon and the NYC Half Marathon. I really feel like I can really train for the marathon […]

  2. Guest Post: Rediscovering lost love « Then Heather Said - September 6, 2010

    […] through my half-marathon and marathon training. He was the one I called when I hit mile 10 of the Disney Princess Half Marathon. He was the one telling me I could do it, and he told me how proud he was of me. I couldn’t have […]

  3. Eighteen Miles of Self Doubt « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 12, 2010

    […] I knew my normal training course would be used by the Seashore Marathon, so I decided I needed some of my “old familiar”, my old neighborhood. So the first few miles would be in my old neighborhood, and I’d venture out to town. I used this course when I was training for the Disney Princess Half. […]

  4. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] trained for the Disney Princess Half Marathon and the NYC Half […]

  5. WDW Marathon 2011 Recap « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 15, 2011

    […] in 2008 and 2009. After that 5-miler, I decided to complete something bigger. I signed up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon. Then, the NYC Half. After two half-marathons, I felt confident I could at least finish a marathon. […]

  6. Holy Race Schedule, Batman! « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 23, 2012

    […] February 26- Disney’s Princess Half Marathon (I ran it in 2010) […]

  7. Disney’s Princess Half Marathon 2012 Recap « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 5, 2012

    […] I finished this race about 4 minutes faster than my 2010 Princess Half Marathon. […]

Leave a Reply

