Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Four

13 Mar

As soon as I finished the race and found my mom with my “after the race” bag, I grabbed my Three Musketeers bar (it’s my treat, ok?) and we headed over to the buses to go back to the resort. I found Brandy back in the room, and thankfully, she was feeling much better. My mom, on other hand, was feeling a little sore from running all around Disney World at the butt crack of dawn to cheer me on. Since we didn’t get to have a Bahama Breeze dinner the night before, Brandy and I headed there for lunch. I got the caesar salad and quesadilla lunch combo. Delicious! I wore my medal to lunch and got a few comments from the staff there. After lunch, Brandy and I headed to Menchie’s. I can’t get enough of that place!

Brandy left that afternoon, and my mom and I headed over to the pool for some relaxation. I only spent a few minutes in the hot tub before I crawled out and fell asleep for about an hour in my chair. My hips were still stiff, and my quads were so sore I had trouble walking down any kind of stairs or ramp.

Around 6, my mom and I headed over to Magic Kingdom for dinner and to just walk around to enjoy it with no set plans. Unfortunately, all of the table-service restaurants were full for the night, so we ended up at a quick-service place called Columbia Harbor House near the Haunted Mansion. I had the tuna sandwich and clam chowder… I’ve decided to go pescatarian for a bit instead of full-on vegetarian, by the way. After dinner, we enjoyed a ride on the Haunted Mansion and the Wishes fireworks! What a perfect ending to this day?! “A dream is a wish your heart makes” was the theme of the day for me, obviously.

This day will forever be placed in my top ten of most perfect days!

4 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon Recap ~ Part Four”

  1. John March 13, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    My first HM ranks in my top 10, too. I surprised my mom with it by getting her to my finish line w/o her knowing why she was there. She was “surprised and proud”.

    Again congrats and another one next weekend….hardcore!

  2. Kate N. March 13, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I totally made my dad take me back to Menchie’s too!! (I may have bribed him with free wi-fi at Panera)

    Good Luck next week! Its awesome that you are doing another half so soon!

  3. marathonmaiden March 13, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    good luck next week! i think i was the same way with wanting to get out of the racecourse after my first half too. sadly i couldn’t because there weren’t any around! lucky you 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Upcoming Race Schedule « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 26, 2013

    […] to have an ultimate girls weekend at Disney together, and I cannot even wait! You can read about my 2010 and 2012 races here and […]

Leave a Reply

