Disney Princess Half Marathon~ Part Five

14 Mar

On Monday, the day after my first half-marathon, my mom and I headed out to Epcot to check out the Flower & Garden Festival. I was still sore and stiff when I woke up, but I knew a day of walking would help the situation.

After taking this picture, we realized my medal was already falling apart. The one single thread holding it together had started to unravel. Therefore, I had to take it off and not flaunt it all day long like I wanted. Instead, I only took it out for pictures with characters.

Aren't these the cutest garden knomes ever?!

On our way out of Epcot, we were stopped by one of Disney’s researchers and were asked to complete an online survey regarding healthy eating. It’s about time Disney focuses its energy towards providing more healthy options!

My mom and I headed back to our resort to drop off our souvenirs and picked up some hoodies and then headed over to the Grand Floridian for dinner at the Grand Floridian Cafe. We both enjoyed the  caramelized onion soup au gratin as an appetizer…

And the salmon with asparagus, crimini mushrooms, leeks, and potato-chive sauce

And for dessert… chocolate fondue with fresh fruit

Everything was delicious, and the service was superb! This probably tops my list of favorite meals at Disney! After dinner, we strolled around the Grand Floridian property to enjoy the atmosphere. I used to work at GF, so it was nice to be a guest there instead of a cast member!

We even ran in to a talking palm tree, and my mom posed for a picture with him. He called her a “tree hugger”.

Some more pictures around GF.

On Tuesday, our last day at Disney, my mom and I checked out of our resort and went over to Downtown Disney for shopping and lunch. We had lunch at the Rainforest Cafe, and I ordered my favorite meal ever- quesadillas with no chicken and a side of guac.

Luckily, my legs were feeling about 90% better so walking around the airport and sitting for over two hours on the airplane wasn’t too painful.

Hope you enjoyed my recaps 🙂 As much as I disliked certain parts of running this race, I’m sure I’ll be back next year. And I’m thinking of signing up for the Disneyland Half Marathon on September 5th and the Inaugural Wine & Dine Half Marathon on October 2nd.

7 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon~ Part Five”

  1. marathonmaiden March 14, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    looks like a fun time all around. i kind of want to do this race next year. it looks like it was a blast!

    • runeatdatesleep March 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      You should do this race! Then I’d finally be able to meet you!

  2. Rachael March 14, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    I love the characters made out of plants, they look so real. Beauty and the Beast? Beautiful!

  3. John March 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Nice pics. Beautiful place there it appears.

  4. Melissa March 15, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    You’re making me miss Disney World! I can’t wait til October.

  5. Cassie March 16, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Your food pics always make me hungry!

  6. Krystyn March 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Great post and pictures!! I was there too and had a great time!!!

Leave a Reply

